Skip to main content Caldwell University Banner

Using the Library: Google Scholar @ Jennings

Search Google Scholar

Already have Google Scholar preferences set to Caldwell University or on campus? Start searching…

Google Scholar Search

Before you search Google Scholar

PLEASE BE AWARE …

Google Scholar is not considered comprehensive for academic content. The organizations participating in Google Scholar are unknown meaning that some material you may need for your research may not be indexed in Google Scholar, but rather in one or more of our Jennings Library Databases. For the most thorough search of a topic, consult Jennings Library’s subject specific databases which have been carefully selected by us to provide comprehensive, retrospective and current access to scholarly literature. For a complete list, see: Databases A-Z.

Setting Up Google Scholar @ Jennings Library

Off campus users, first go to Google Scholar preferences. In the library links box, search for and select Caldwell University, then select save preferences.

Now you will be able to see Jennings Library’s subscription database holdings in your Google Scholar search results (identified by Full-Text@Caldwell).

To access the full-text of an article, select Full-Text@Caldwell and then the article link provided. At this point, you will be prompted for your Caldwell NetID username and password in order to view the full-text. You only need to enter your NetID once in a session.

About Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar searches a specific subset of Google’s index and covers a wide range of academic content areas; however coverage appears to be strongest in science and technology, and weakest in the humanities.

Google Scholar Search Results

What if I want the full-text of an article I found in Google Scholar? 

Our electronic and print journal holdings have been uploaded to Google Scholar, so if Jennings Library owns a journal article you located using Google Scholar full-text, you will see FULL-TEXT@CALDWELL beside the citation.  Select this link to enter the Jennings Library databases for access to the article full-text. If we own the article in print, a link to CALCAT for holdings information is displayed. If we do not have access, you can use inter-library loan (ILL) to request the article. See our guide to inter-library loan: http://libguides.caldwell.edu/jenningsILL

Example Google Scholar screen with full text link highlighted

WHAT ABOUT BOOK RESULTS IN GOOGLE SCHOLAR?

Books results in Google Scholar are identified by [BOOK] preceding the citation title. When you see a book you would like, click on "More" under the citation, then "Library Search" to see if Jennings Library has access. Look to see if Jennings Library is in the list of libraries who have access to the book. If we do not have access, you can use inter-library loan (ILL) to request the book. See our guide to inter-library loan: http://libguides.caldwell.edu/jenningsILL

WHAT ABOUT CITATION RESULTS IN GOOGLE SCHOLAR?

Citation results are indicated by [CITATION] preceding the citation title and mean the full-text is not available via the Internet (freely or for purchase). These are articles to which other scholarly articles refer. 

The full-text may be available in Jennings Library though, click on "More" under the citation, then "Library Search" to see if Jennings Library has access.