University Archives

Caldwell University Archives Access Policy

v.1, March 2021 / Kimberly Lynch

Adapted & revised from original policy by Rebecca Driscoll, 2014

I. Access Policy

II. User Communities

III. Intellectual Access

IV. Physical Access

V. Limitations on Access

VI. Statement on Harmful Content and Inclusivity

VII. Reference Services

VIII. References

The Caldwell University Archives (CUA), housed in the Jennings Library at Caldwell University, serves as the principal repository for the institutional records of the University and collects records, papers and manuscripts, publications, and other historical materials documenting the intellectual, cultural, administrative, and social history of Caldwell University from its origins in 1939 as a women’s college to the present status as an independent, coeducational institution. The CUA is committed to providing open, equitable access to its collections and services in accordance with professional standards adopted by the Society of American Archivists, the American Library Association, and the Association of College and Research Libraries. It also seeks to improve access to collections as much as possible. The CUA will not deny any researcher access to its materials, nor grant privileged or exclusive use of materials to any researcher, nor conceal the existence of any body of materials from any researcher unless required to do so by law, Caldwell University policy, or donor or purchase stipulation.

The CUA makes its resources and services available to Caldwell University students, faculty, staff, alumni, and the general public. No special permission or letters of introduction are required. Researchers using archival collections must register with the Archives. They must present a valid photo identification and sign a Patron Registration Form.

The CUA facilitates access to its collections by informing researchers of their existence in a timely manner. This is accomplished through online catalogs, inventories and finding aids, websites, and other means.

Collections of unique material require special handling. These policies and procedures are designed to provide researchers with the greatest possible access to the materials in the Caldwell University Archives while ensuring the protection and the preservation of these materials for future use.

• To protect its collections and ensure their continued accessibility, all materials must be used in accordance with the CUA’s policies.
• The CUA’s collections are non-circulating and must be used in the Archives room under the supervision of the Archivist.
• In certain circumstances, patrons may be required to use access copies in place of originals when their physical condition or format makes them unusable.
• The CUA reserves the right to limit the access of an individual who has demonstrated such carelessness or deliberate destructiveness as to endanger the safety of its collections, or repeatedly violated its policies and procedures.
• For more information, contact the Archivist about the CUA’s Patron Use Policy.

The CUA is committed to providing access to its collections as much as possible. However, the CUA may have a legal or institutional obligation to restrict access to some collections or parts of collections. The CUA will inform researchers of conditions governing access to its collections.

Unprocessed Materials

Unprocessed materials are typically considered closed for research purposes. The CUA will consider research requests for these materials on a case-by-case basis.

Restricted Records

Restricted records are closed for research purposes. The CUA will not redact restricted records unless it is expressly permitted to do so under terms specified in transfer documents (university records) or deeds of gift (donations).

• University Records
  • When transferring records to the CUA, university offices should specify on the Transfer Form whether the records are open for research or if their use should be restricted. As indicated in the CUA Collections Policy, offices should only transfer inactive records of enduring value to the Archives. Active records should be maintained by the originating office. The CUA will refer requests for access to restricted records to the relevant university office.
• Donations
  • Donors may impose reasonable restrictions on access with specific time limitations when donating materials to the CUA. Such restrictions must be documented in the Deed of Gift Form at the time of donation. Donors may access collection materials that they have donated and restricted; however, they may not grant access or special permissions to others, as this would be considered unequal access.

Statement on Harmful Content and Inclusivity

Archivists have a responsibility to make the archival record as accessible as possible while striving to make researchers feel welcome. The collections in the CUA are historical in nature and reflect both the attitudes and opinions of their creators as well as the society in which they were produced. As a result, some collection materials may contain harmful or offensive language and/or imagery. Materials and records are retained in order to fully represent the historical record and are presented in their original format for research in person or through online access. The materials are made accessible without endorsing any historical viewpoints. In the interest of historical integrity, we will not remove these images or language from archival materials or collections, but we may provide a note about these contents in the archival description when necessary. Although dealing with this type of content can be painful, its removal is in reality an alteration of the archival record and defies archival professional ethics. It also prevents any opportunity for learning from past injustices and moving forward.

Reference Services

Research Services

The Archivist is available to assist with research requests, remotely or in-person. Requests can be made via email, phone, or by using the Ask the Archivist form on the CUA website.

Visiting the Archives

The CUA is available by appointment. Researchers should contact the CUA to make an appointment before visiting to ensure availability of desired materials and staff. 

Email: archives@caldwell.edu / Phone: (973) 618-3329

Copying Services

Photocopies and/or digitized copies may be requested by faculty, staff, students, or researchers, provided materials are not confidential, restricted by the donor, nor damaging to the work being copied. These copies, whether physical or digital, are provided for personal research use only.

All copies must be made in accordance with copyright law, CUA policies and procedures, and concern for the physical preservation of the records. Fees may apply.

Copyright & Permission for Public Use

Use of manuscripts and published materials is subject to the guidelines of copyright law. Laws against libel and invasion of privacy may also apply. Patrons assume full responsibility for any legal concerns that may arise as the result of their use of materials in the CUA. Caldwell University will be held blameless for the infringement of copyright or publication rights by others due to deliberate or negligent misuse of the permission granted to examine or copy materials in the CUA.

Permission to examine materials, or to obtain copies, does not imply the right to publish them, in whole or in part. The CUA requires written permission for any public use of our holdings or copies of our holdings. Permission must also be obtained from the author or anyone else who holds copyright or other publication rights. Users must determine on their own if their intended use of the materials invades copyright, rights to privacy, or other rights.

Caldwell University reserves the right to assess a use fee when granting permission to publish material from the Archives.

Patrons will supply the CUA with a copy of the publication or work in which archival material is published or in which substantial information or material from the CUA is cited.

Citation Format

The CUA will provide to researchers a suggested form of citation crediting the repository and identifying items within its holdings. Please use the following format when citing collection materials:

Creator (if known). Identification of item, Date (if known). Collection # and Title, Box #, Folder #. Caldwell University Archives, Jennings Library, Caldwell University, Caldwell, NJ.

Standards

Access Policies

Harmful Content Statements