University Archives

Please follow these steps before sending materials to the Archives: 

• Consult with the Archivist to determine if the item(s) belong in the Archives. You can also refer to the Archives' Collections Policy to learn what the Archives does and does not accept. 
• After consulting with the Archivist and/or the Collections Policy, please complete the Transfer Form before sending any items over to the Archives. 
  • This form provides the Archivist with essential information about the items that are needed for accurate archival description and allows the Archivist to keep track of materials and where they came from.
  • NOTE: the Transfer Form is intended for internal use between Caldwell University departments. Alumni and community members should fill out the Deed of Gift Form.

Where is the Archives?
The Archives is located on the second floor, by the main staircase landing.

What are the hours of the Archives?
The Archives does not have set hours.  Instead, we prefer you make an appointment to visit.

Can I have food/drinks in the Archives?
No, neither food nor drinks are permitted in the Archives.

Can I take out archival materials?
No, all materials are for in-house use only and may not leave the Archives.  We would be happy to digitize or copy any non-sensitive materials you might want.

If I am not in the area, how can I conduct my research?
You may request materials over the phone or via email or the Ask the Archivist form, and we will do our best to fulfill your request and digitize the items you need.

How do I donate items to the Archives?
Fill out the Deed of Gift form located on the "Forms and Policies" page of this guide and submit it with the materials you are sending to the Archives.  If you are unsure about donating or want your items appraised by the archivist, contact a library staff member to set up a meeting.