Research Guides: Modern Languages: Spanish, French and Italian Resources: French Resources

Bienvenue!

Welcome to the Library's research guide on French language and culture. This guide will help you to locate resources related to French language and culture and get started on your research.

Suggested Books

The Larousse French-English, English-French Dictionary
Call Number: REF PC2640 .G735 1993
ISBN: 2034201000
Publication Date: 1994
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French
Call Number: REF PQ41 .N48 1995
ISBN: 0198661258
Publication Date: 1995
Short History of French Literature by Sarah Kay; Malcolm Bowie; Terence Cave
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9780199291182
Publication Date: 2006

E-Books

E-books can be accessed 24/7 with your Caldwell NetID and password.

(Also enter other ebook collections through "Add > Database", if relevant)

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive collection of e-books. Topics covered include business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.

Other Collections of E-Books
Our e-book collections include individual titles (APA Handbook of Behavior Analysis and the DSM), large collections covering many disciplines (Gale Virtual Reference Library and E-books from EBSCOHost) and subject specific collections (Psychiatry Online, the Salem Health, History, and Literature Collection, and the Science Direct E-book Collection).

Recommended Language Tools

Check out these recommended websites:

Apprendre.TV
Practice your French skills with interactive exercises from TV5MONDE.
La banque de dépannage linguistique (BDL)
The BDL is a tool provided by l'Office québécois de la langue francaise, intended to assist with grammar, spelling, syntax, vocabulary, pronunciation, and acronyms. Search for a particular term, or browse their alphabetical or thematic index.
Le grand dictionnaire terminologique
An extensive dictionary provided by l'Office québécois de la langue française (the Québec Office of the French Language), with an emphasis on technical and scientific terms.
Learn French (BBC)
This resource from the BBC provides access to free online French lessons.
LexiLogos English - French dictionary
Search multiple English-French dictionaries with this online language tool. The website also provides links to several tools for learning French.
LexiLogos French Dictionaries
Online language tool that enables you to search various French dictionaries, including Larousse. The website also provides links to several grammar tools and encyclopedias.
WordReference.com English-French dictionary
Free online dictionary with definitions, synonyms, and a conjugation tool.

Paris

City of Paris - Official Portal

Find information about visiting the city, as well as its history and politics. The website is available in French, English, and Spanish.

Other Resources

Dossiers Thématiques
Explore various aspects of French culture with this resource provided by the French Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication.
Gallica
Gallica, the digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France, offers access to over 2 million documents. Coverage includes history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics and political science.
Persée
This free database provides full text in PDF format to back issues of hundreds of prestigious French-language journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Europeana
This digital library allows you to explore millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums.

Online Database Tutorials

Library Online Tutorials
Do you need a refresher on how to use a database?

Do you have to use a database you've never used before?

Do you wish you knew how to use the great features the databases provide?

Then this guide is for you! Take a look at our online tutorials. More will be coming soon!