It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Modern Languages: Spanish, French and Italian Resources: Modern Language Databases
Resources in Spanish, French, Italian and more at the Jennings Library.
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 4,770 full-text journals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
This multi-disciplinary database offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. It includes more than 13,780 indexed and abstracted journals and provides full-text for 4,770 journals, including full-text for 4,000 peer-reviewed titles. You will find PDF backfiles to 1975 or further as well as searchable cited references for more than 1,050 journals. This database is an excellent source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Scholarly works exploring great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.
The most comprehensive collection of e-books, with more than 125,000 e-books from a broad range of subject areas including business, education, humanities, social sciences, and science.
Topics covered include business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals dating as far back as 1665. Both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections are offered, covering more than 50 academic disciplines in the Humanities, Life Sciences, and Social Sciences.
Access about 15,000 business, legal, and news sources, including federal and state court cases, full-text articles from more than 800 law reviews and journals, company and industry information, SEC reports, articles from more than 2,500 newspapers, federal regulatory content, and new international news sources. Users now have the option to self-register for a more personalized research experience, including creating and sharing folders for group research projects and study groups.
LexisNexis includes top-tier news publications such as The New York Times® and The Washington Post® and local, national, and international sources.
Offers more than 70 foreign language and English as a second language courses, including specialty courses like Medical Spanish; also features Mango Premiere, a program to teach language through full-length international films.
Accessible through the library website as well as mobile apps for Apple and Android devices.
A detailed bibliography with millions of citations for journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920s. Subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature
Produced by the Modern Language Association. Contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study, and are accompanied by supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications. Funded by the New Jersey State Library.
This multidisciplinary resource contains full-text journal articles, trade journals and consumer publications from 47 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects. Subject areas include the arts and humanities, business, health, medicine, science, the social sciences, and news.
Spanish-language database with content from a variety of sources including encyclopedia entries, images, health reports, a Spanish-English dictionary and full text for over 100 reference books, dozens of general interest magazines, and several prominent Latin American newspapers.
Daily updates ensure availability of the most current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers from 10 Latin American countries such as: El Comercio (Perú), El Mercurio (Chile), El Tiempo (Colombia), El Universal (México), El País (Uruguay), El Nacional (Venezuela), La Nación (Argentina), and La Nación (Costa Rica). Funded by the New Jersey State Library.
Full-text scholarly journals in sociology and related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, social development, social psychology, social work, and socio-cultural anthropology.
In addition to the full-text journals included in the database, extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, periodicals and other non-periodical content sources is also included.
Significant primary materials from all countries and cultures, available in multilingual format. Content includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films.
WDL items can be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, language, and contributing institution. The search feature can be used to search all of the descriptions and the full text of printed books on the site. The WDL is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.