Research Guides: EN 349: Literature and the Environment: Find News Sources

Newspaper Databases

You can use the databases below for current information from newspapers on climate change and environmental issues. It's important to evaluate sources of all kinds, and some of these questions might be relevant for analyzing and thinking critically about news articles:

Whose perspectives are present, and whose are missing?
What interests are represented or emphasized (or not)?
Is the intention of the article to inform or to persuade?
Is there a clear perspective stated?
Could there be a hidden bias?
What information is the argument based on?

New York Times (1980 – current) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper, searchable in a Proquest database.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage back to 1984 from the world’s leading financial newspaper.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world’s major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
US Newsstream (previously Newsstand) This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. The database includes the backfile for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each paper.

Independent and Alternative Press Websites

These are alternative news sources that might include relevant recent news stories about your research topics. As you use these sources, some of these questions might be relevant:

Whose perspectives are included?
Are there different perspectives included than in more mainstream news sources?
What difference do different perspectives make, if applicable?
Which articles inform and which persuade?
Are perspectives clearly stated? What are they?