The most comprehensive collection of e-books, with more than 125,000 e-books from a broad range of subject areas including business, education, humanities, social sciences, and science.
Topics covered include business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.
Website Evaluation Tips
Check out these tips when deciding to use an online source. Always be skeptical.
Authority: Who is responsible for creating the web page? Is there a publisher or sponsor of the web page? Can you find information about the author and publisher?
Audience: Who is this web site created for? Is the content geared towards an age group or population group?
Accuracy: How does the information compare to other sources?
Content: What is the content of the web site: images, articles, a blog? The type of domain (.edu, .gov, .org) may provide some clues about the information. Can you detect a bias? Are there cited references?
Currency: How recent is the web site? Is there information on when it was last updated?
Searchable content from McGraw-Hill’s Encyclopedia of Science & Technology; also provides definitions of scientific terms, biographies of scientists, research updates and news.
It also includes research updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology, definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, biographies of well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography® and the latest news in science and technology from Science News® and ScienCentral® videos.
A free online collection of information about the Earth, its natural environments, and human-environmental interactions. Search the site or browse topics such as biodiversity, climate change, environmental law and policy, physics and chemistry.
Scholarly, government and general-interest publications covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. Funded by the New Jersey State Library.
JSTOR Sustainability is a collection of academic and policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. There also topic pages, which explain more than 1,500 key terms related to sustainability, as well as theme-based searching.
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 4,770 full-text journals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
This multi-disciplinary database offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. It includes more than 13,780 indexed and abstracted journals and provides full-text for 4,770 journals, including full-text for 4,000 peer-reviewed titles. You will find PDF backfiles to 1975 or further as well as searchable cited references for more than 1,050 journals. This database is an excellent source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities.
This multidisciplinary resource contains full-text journal articles, trade journals and consumer publications from 47 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects. Subject areas include the arts and humanities, business, health, medicine, science, the social sciences, and news.
Scholarly works exploring great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.
This provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. It includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.
Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, the OED is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words—past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Centuries of literary analysis, including scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Jennings Library offers access to the Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and Short Story Criticism series.
LCO is designed to provide easy access for readers of all ages and skill levels. Beginning-level users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics and more.
A comprehensive full-text literary reference database with a broad spectrum of information from antiquity to the present; includes thousands of plot summaries, author biographies, literary journals, book reviews, author interviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, and classic texts.
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals dating as far back as 1665. Both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections are offered, covering more than 50 academic disciplines in the Humanities, Life Sciences, and Social Sciences.
A detailed bibliography with millions of citations for journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920s. Subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature
Produced by the Modern Language Association. Contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.