Research Guides: EN 349: Literature and the Environment: Find Books

What's on this page

This is a selection of books available at Jennings Library that might be relevant to your work. The first box is ebooks, and the second box is print books that are in the library.

Often, an academic or non-fiction book has chapters about related but distinct topics. As you look at these books, remember that you do not necessarily need to read the whole book in order to learn from one or two relevant chapters. Use the table of contents (and the search function within ebooks) to identify chapters of interest.

To search specifically for books, use the Books & Ebooks search tab on the library homepage.

Suggested E-Books for Research

This is a selection of ebooks related to your research topics. You can access these books from anywhere with your NetID.

An Afro-Indigenous History of the United States by Kyle T. Mays
ISBN: 9780807011683
Publication Date: 2021-11-16
The first intersectional history of the Black and Native American struggle for freedom in our country that also reframes our understanding of who was Indigenous in early America Beginning with pre-Revolutionary America and moving into the movement for Black lives and contemporary Indigenous activism, Afro-Indigenous historian Kyle T. Mays argues that the foundations of the US are rooted in antiblackness and settler colonialism, and that these parallel oppressions continue into the present.
Agroecology Now! by Colin Ray Anderson; Janneke Bruil; M. Jahi Chappell; Csilla Kiss; Michel Patrick Pimbert
ISBN: 9783030613143
Publication Date: 2020-12-08
This open access book develops a framework for advancing agroecology transformations focusing on power, politics and governance. It explores the potential of agroecology as a sustainable and socially just alternative to today's dominant food regime. Agroecology is an ecological approach to farming that addresses climate change and biodiversity loss while contributing to the Sustainable Development Goals.
Aldo Leopold's Odyssey, Tenth Anniversary Edition by Julianne Lutz Warren; Bill McKibben (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781610917544
Publication Date: 2016-05-31
As our very concept of wilderness is changing, Warren frames Leopold's work in the context of the Anthropocene. With a new preface and foreword by Bill McKibben, the book underscores the ever-growing importance of Leopold's ideas in an increasingly human-dominated landscape. Drawing on unpublished archives, Warren traces Leopold's quest to define and preserve land health.
America's National Park System by Lary M. Dilsaver; Jonathan B. Jarvis (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781442256842
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
The extensive collection of documents illustrates the system's creation, development, and management. The documents include laws that established and shaped the system; policy statements on park management; Park Service self-evaluations; and outside studies by a range of scientists, conservation organizations, private groups, and businesses.
The American Environment Revisited by Geoffrey L. Buckley (Editor); Yolonda Youngs (Editor)
ISBN: 9781442269965
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
This innovative book provides a dynamic-and often surprising-view of the range of environmental issues facing the United States today. Seventeen original chapters examine topics such as forest conservation, mining landscapes, urban environment justice, solid waste, exotic species, environmental photography, national and state park management, recreation and tourism, and pest control.
Banned: A History of Pesticides and the Science of Toxicology by Davis, Frederick Rowe
Call Number: 2014
ISBN: 9780300210378
Rachel Carson's eloquent book Silent Spring stands as one of the most important books of the twentieth century and inspired important and long-lasting changes in environmental science and government policy. Frederick Rowe Davis thoughtfully sets Carson's study in the context of the twentieth century, reconsiders her achievement, and analyzes its legacy in light of toxic chemical use and regulation today.
Bear River by Craig Denton
ISBN: 9780874216509
Publication Date: 2007-08-15
Craig Denton notes, "Water will be the primary political, social, and economic issue in the Intermountain West in the twenty-first century." Urban Utah thirsts for the Great Salt Lake's principal source, the Bear River. Plans abound to divert it for a rapidly growing Wasatch Front, as the last good option for future water. But is it? Who now uses the river and how? Who are its stakeholders? What does the Bear mean to them? What is left for further use? How do we measure the
Beyond Global Food Supply Chains by Victoria Stead (Editor); Melinda Hinkson (Editor)
ISBN: 9789811931543
Publication Date: 2022-07-22
This open access book takes the upheaval of the global COVID-19 pandemic as a springboard from which to interrogate a larger set of structural, environmental and political fault lines running through the global food system.
Deep Things Out of Darkness: A History of Natural History by John G. T. Anderson
ISBN: 9780520954458
Publication Date: 2012-12-31
Natural history, the deliberate observation of the environment, is arguably the oldest science. From purely practical beginnings as a way of finding food and shelter, natural history evolved into the holistic, systematic study of plants, animals, and the landscape. Deep Things out of Darkness chronicles the rise, decline, and ultimate revival of natural history within the realms of science and public discourse. Includes chapters that discuss Rachel Carson, Henry David Thoreau, and Aldo Leopold.
Environment: Why Read the Classics by Sofia Vaz (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781907643538
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
Environment: Why Read the Classics? presents six important essays by some of the world's leading environmental thinkers on six of the most emblematic books ever written on the environment. The books - Walden; A Sand County Almanac; Small is Beautiful; Silent Spring; The Limits to Growth; and Our Common Future - taken together have been hugely important in the development of global environmental awareness, activism and policy.
Landscapes of Exclusion by William E. O'Brien
ISBN: 9781613763605
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
During the 1930s, [...] the National Park Service used New Deal funding and labor to construct parks nationwide. However, under severe Jim Crow restrictions in the South, African Americans were routinely and officially denied entrance to these sites. O'Brien illuminates this history in the first-ever study of segregation in southern state parks. His new book underscores the profound inequality that persisted for decades in the number, size, and quality of state parks provided for African American visitors in the Jim Crow South.
Latinx Environmentalisms by Sarah D. Wald (Editor); David J. Vazquez (Editor); Priscilla Solis Ybarra (Editor); Sarah Jaquette Ray (Editor); Laura Pulido (Foreword by); Stacy Alaimo (Afterword by)
ISBN: 9781439916681
Publication Date: 2019-11-01
The whiteness of mainstream environmentalism often fails to account for the richness and variety of Latinx environmental thought. Building on insights of environmental justice scholarship as well as critical race and ethnic studies, the editors and contributors to Latinx Environmentalisms map the ways Latinx cultural texts integrate environmental concerns with questions of social and political justice.
Old Ways for New Days: Indigenous Survival and Agency in Climate Changed Times by Melissa Nursey-Bray; Robert Palmer; Ann Marie Chischilly; Phil Rist; Lun Yin
ISBN: 9783030978259
Publication Date: 2022-09-02
This Open Access book provides a critical reflection into how indigenous cultures are attempting to adapt to climate change. Through detailed first-hand accounts, the book describes the unique challenges facing indigenous peoples in the context of climate change adaptation, governance, communication strategies, and institutional pressures.
Pathways to Our Sustainable Future by Patricia M. DeMarco
ISBN: 9780822983002
Publication Date: 2017-11-10
Pittsburgh has a rich history of social consciousness in calls for justice and equity. Today, the movement for more sustainable practices is rising in Pittsburgh. Against a backdrop of Marcellus shale gas development, initiatives emerge for a sustainable and resilient response to the climate change and pollution challenges of the twenty-first century. People, institutions, communities and corporations in Pittsburgh are leading the way to a more sustainable future. Inspired by Rachel Carson's voice of precaution in protecting the Earth, this is a book about empowerment and hope.
Pilgrimage to the National Parks by Lynn Ross-Bryant
ISBN: 9781136207266
Publication Date: 2012-11-12
National Parks - 'America's Best Idea' - were from the first seen as sacred sites embodying the God-given specialness of American people and American land, and from the first they were also marked as tourist attractions. This book explores the importance of the discourse of nature in American culture, arguing that the attributes and symbolic power that had first been associated with the 'new world' and then the 'frontier' were embodied in the National Parks. Includes a chapter on competing views of nature that discusses race and culture with regard to national parks.
Rachel Carson and Her Sisters by Robert K. Musil
ISBN: 9780813562438
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Musil places Carson's achievements in a wider context, weaving connections from the past through the present. Readers will find new insight into Carson and contemporary figures she influenced...who have historically received less attention. Musil's respect and enthusiasm for these women is evident throughout the book, making it a deeply engaging and enjoyable read. Also covers Terry Tempest Williams.
Stories from the Leopold Shack: Sand County Revisited by Estella B. Leopold
ISBN: 9780190463229
Publication Date: 2016-06-10
In this reflection on the Shack and its inhabitants, Estella B. Leopold, the youngest of Aldo's children, recalls with clear-eyed fondness the part the Shack played in their burgeoning awareness of nature's miracles, season by season. As first evoked in A Sand County Almanac, and now in Sand County Revisited, the Leopold family's efforts were among the earliest in ecological restoration in the United States, and their work, collectively and individually, continues to have a profound impact on land management and conservationism.
Voice in the Wilderness by Michael Austin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780874215373
Publication Date: 2006-08-15
With her distinctive, impassioned voice and familiar felicity of language, Terry Tempest Williams talks about wilderness and wildlife, place and eroticism, art and literature, democracy and politics, family and heritage, Mormonism and religion, writing and creativity, and other subjects that engage her agile mind--in a set of interviews gathered and introduced by Michael Austin to represent the span of her career as a naturalist, author, and activist.

Suggested Print Books for Research

This is a selection of available print books on relevant topics. Come to the library to check out these or any other books.

Fallen Forests by Karen L. Kilcup
Call Number: PS152 K55 2013
ISBN: 9780820332864
Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Fallen Forests contributes to scholarship in American women's writing, ecofeminism, ecocriticism, and feminist rhetoric. Unlike previous ecocritical works, Fallen Forests includes texts by African American, Native American, Mexican American, working-class, and non-Protestant women. Kilcup also enlarges ecocriticism's genre foundations, showing how Cherokee oratory, travel writing, slave narrative, diary, polemic, sketches, novels, poetry, and exposé intervene in important environmental debates.
Lost Woods by Rachel Carson; Linda Lear (Editor)
Call Number: QH81 .C3546 1998
ISBN: 0807085464
Publication Date: 1998-11-19
A trove of Carson writing never before published or collected. Included are examples of Carson's early & often remarkable nature writing.
Toms River by Dan Fagin
ISBN: 9780553806533
Publication Date: 2013-03-19
Recounts the decades-long saga of the New Jersey seaside town plagued by childhood cancers caused by air and water pollution due to the indiscriminate dumping of toxic chemicals. One of New Jersey's seemingly innumerable quiet seaside towns, Toms River became the unlikely setting for a decades-long drama that culminated in 2001 with one of the largest legal settlements in the annals of toxic dumping.
The World As We Knew It by Amy Brady (Editor); Tajja Isen (Editor)
Call Number: GE140 .W665 2022
ISBN: 1646220307
Publication Date: 2022-06-14
Nineteen leading literary writers from around the globe offer timely, haunting first-person reflections on how climate change has altered their lives.
Writing for an Endangered World by Lawrence Buell
Call Number: PS169 .E25 B84 2001
ISBN: 0674004493
Publication Date: 2001-05-25
Buell is godfather to the academic field of ecocriticism, which argues that acts of the imagination are crucial tools in the battle over America's remaining, revived, or paved-over green spaces. Expanding on his Environmental Imagination (Harvard Univ., 1995), his new book examines how a vast array of U.S. texts including works by Melville, Faulkner, and Gwendolyn Brooks as well as contemporary best sellers written from the perspectives of endangered species reveal a sense of place in disparate ways. Includes chapters that discuss Aldo Leopold as well as environmental justice.