Research Guides: BU 213: Introduction to Health Care Administration: Internet Resources

Newspapers

New York Times (1980 – current)
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper, searchable in a Proquest database.
Wall Street Journal
Comprehensive coverage back to 1984 from the world’s leading financial newspaper.

Health Statistics

Finding and Using Health Statistics
Health Statistics provide information for understanding, monitoring, improving and planning the use of resources to improve the lives of people, provide services and promote their well being.

This course describes the range of available health statistics, identifies their sources and helps you understand how to use information about their structure as you search.
Center for Disease Control (CDC)
National Center for Health Statistics...Monitoring the Nations Health
U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services
The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the U.S. government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.
Global Burden of Disease (GBD Data Visualizations)
From the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) comes the largest and most comprehensive effort to date to measure epidemiological levels and trends worldwide.

Websites

Bloomberg.com
Business.com
Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
HRSA, an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for improving access to health care services for people who are uninsured, isolated or medically vulnerable. Their site includes information on getting healthcare, healthcare statistics, public health information, and more.
Health Sciences Online
HSO is the first website to deliver authoritative, comprehensive, free, and ad-free health sciences knowledge.
Health Services Research & Public Health Information Programs
Created by the National Institute of Health U.S. National Library of Medicine.
HRH Global Resource Center
The HRH Global Resource Center is a global library of human resources for health (HRH) resources focused on developing countries.
National Health Information Center
The National Health Information Center (NHIC) is a health information referral service. NHIC links people to organizations that provide reliable health information. NHIC was established in 1979 by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP), Office of Public Health and Science, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
The Joint Commission
The Joint Commission (TJC) is a United States-based nonprofit tax-exempt 501(c) organization that accredits more than 20,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States.

HCA Organizations & Associations

Here's an alphabetical list of professional organizations and associations that may be of interest to you. Many of them have free resources available, but membership is often required to use all of their services. Some offer student discounts so you may want to consider joining some professional groups because membership in them opens up opportunities for conferences, networking, and professional growth.

American Hospital Assocation
The AHA leads, represents and serves hospitals, health systems and other related organizations that are accountable to the community and committed to health improvement.
American Public Health Association
APHA champions the health of all people and all communities whose mission is to improve the health of the public and achieve equity in health status.
Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFM)
HFMA is the nation's premier membership organization for healthcare finance leaders. HFMA builds and supports coalitions with other healthcare associations and industry groups to achieve consensus on solutions for the challenges the U.S. healthcare system faces today.
Healthcare Information and Management Systems (HIMSS)
HIMSS is a global, cause-based, not-for-profit organization focused on better health through information technology (IT). HIMSS leads efforts to optimize health engagements and care outcomes using information technology.

Health Career Sites

American College of Healthcare Executives
This site provides information on the nature of a career as a healthcare executive, information on careers and education, and more.
Explore Health Careers
ExploreHealthCareers.org is a free, multi-disciplinary, interactive health careers website that gives students (and educators) a reliable, comprehensive source of accurate, up-to-date information about the health professions.
Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical and Health Services Manager
From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, this resource provides position descriptions, job outlook data, description of work environment, salary information, and more for careers in medical and health services administration.