Science Resources

This collection includes approximately 1,900 documentaries on various topics in biology, including human anatomy and physiology, ecology, and microbiology.

This collection includes nearly 800 videos on physical science topics, including chemistry, physics, and astronomy.

This collection includes videos on the systems of the human body, featuring descriptions of organs and their functions.

This collection of videos offers a survey of the physical and biological sciences, engineering, environmental studies, and natural history, and focuses on their practical applications. It features thousands of documentaries, instructional materials, how-to guides, and lectures, including approximately 800 on topics in biology and 100 in chemistry.

This video addresses central topics in biology, such as evolution, cellular structure, and hierarchical organization; explains the process of scientific inquiry; and spotlights the contributions of key researchers in the life sciences.

This video explores social and genetic contexts as determinants of human behavior and reactions.

This 4-part series explores the essentials of cell biology: cell structure and function (of both animal and plant cells), cell metabolism and respiration, cell division and growth, and a focus on stem cells, cellular differentiation, genetics, and the potential that stem cells have for medical use.

This in-depth investigation examines the invisible threat of new viruses emerging in the animal kingdom at an unprecedented rate. This film traces three threatening viruses that have been transmitted from animals to humans: the H7N9 flu virus, the Mers-CoV virus, and the Ebola virus.

This two-part series documents many of the strides made in biology, anthropology, and health care as a result of the genetic discoveries of the past few decades.

This three-part series guides students through core concepts in genetic science while addressing some of the controversies that surround them. Topics include embryology, epigenetics, genomics, species differentiation, the influence of biotechnology in agriculture, and ethical questions concerning embryonic stem cell research.

This nine-part series uses physiologic animations and illustrations, microscopic imaging, expert commentary, and footage of the body in motion to provide a thorough overview of the amazing human machine.

This 7-part series combines illustrations, animations, interviews, and real-world analogies to define and explain the major systems of the human body, with an emphasis on how they enable us to perform everyday activities and maintain good health.

This program shows the various types of gene reproduction and examines the gene responsible for blood clotting. The production of coded proteins is clearly demonstrated. The processes of gel filtration, protein sequence analysis, isolation of mRNA, DNA synthesis and reproduction, production and screening of a DNA bank, and hybridization, along with other demonstrations, are re-created through highly sophisticated computer animation.

This compilation of video segments provides a wide-ranging look inside genetic science and what it reveals about human life and evolution. Case studies and expert interviews take viewers through recent genetic breakthroughs as well as their moral, ethical, and legal implications.

This comprehensive video library of 46 three-to-six-minute segments sheds light on foundational aspects of chemistry, including the periodical table, chemical reactions, and biochemistry.

This film explores a range of important chemical analysis techniques, including chromatography, mass spectrometry, infra-red and nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR). It explains how chemical principles are applied in the various analysis techniques and how it is possible to identify very specific chemical elements and compounds using them.

This 6-part series brings a full range of laboratory experiments into the classroom. Detailed, easy-to-follow narration and close-up shots illustrate the steps in experiments and demonstrations that are a part of any core curriculum.

This video presents 9 strategies for succeeding in general chemistry.

This program introduces students to this fundamental concept in chemistry, explaining in a step-by-step way the scale of atomic particles, Avogadro’s number, moles in reactions, molar mass, and mole formulas.

Section one of this program presents the Law of Conservation of Mass and how to balance equations. Section two explains the difference between the mass number and atomic mass, what an isotope is, and how to work with atomic mass units to find the average atomic mass.

This intro-level video explores the biological and chemical processes central to the transfer of genetic material.

Leading endocrinologist Professor John Wass tells the fascinating story of hormones—the well-known but little-understood chemicals that govern our bodies.

After introducing the states, properties, and types of matter, this program proceeds to the periodic table of elements and the qualities of atoms, compounds, and molecules. The video also discusses the metric system, SI units, uncertainty in measurement, and dimensional analysis.

An explanation of how a mass spectrometer works is followed by a demonstration of a mass spectrometer in action. The analysis of simple mass spectra is discussed—simple splitting of hydrocarbons, the effect on splitting of heteroatoms in alcohols and ethers, and the McLafferty rearrangement.

This three-part series uses demonstrations and animations to take students on a journey of discovery to explain what we know about atoms—and how we know what we know about atoms.