You don't have to be in the Library to access articles and databases.
The Library's resources can be accessed anytime, anywhere with your NetID and password.
Scholarly journals publish analytical articles by researchers. The following journals - from education and literary studies - focus on themes and works in children's and young adult literatures. You can search or browse in any of these journals.
Trade publications are written for practitioners in a particular field of work. The following journals and magazines publish pieces discussing or reviewing new books and media for teachers, librarians, and others who work with children and youth and books.
The following web resources also provide recommendations, reviews, and curation of book lists.
A readers’ advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction. Browse by genre or your mood to figure out what to read next, or find "read-alikes" that are similar to a book you enjoyed.
Library databases have access to articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Every database has different content. This makes it important to use a database that has content on the subject you are researching. In addition, be sure to search in more than one database to find information.
Check out these recommended databases to get started:
This collection offers the multiformat content needed for studying and researching education, covering educational leadership, educational technology, pedagogy, education policy, special education, and many other areas. Millions of full-text items including scholarly journals, videos, dissertations, reference work, grey literature, popular news sources, and more are supplemented by topic pages that pull together resources on education theories and theorists, policies, research concepts, and featured topics (e.g. assistive technology, digital literacies, game-based learning, learning analytics, etc.). This collection includes ERIC, and its indexing uses the ERIC thesaurus.
More than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials; most journals are peer-reviewed but not all are full-text. In addition to the journal literature, ERIC indexes education-related materials from a variety of sources, including scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies. Funded by the New Jersey State Library.
A wide range of literary criticism and analysis as well as biographies from a variety of Gale literature databases, including Literature Resource Center and Gale Literature Criticism.
International Literacy Association Hub features the journals Reading Teacher, Reading Research Quarterly, and Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy. Part of Wiley Online Library.
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals dating as far back as 1665. Multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal and ebook collections are offered, covering more than 50 academic disciplines in the Humanities, Life Sciences, and Social Sciences.
Scholarly journals, work and topic overviews, biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. All full-text articles.
Find more databases:
To find books or articles not available in the Jennings Library, use inter-library loan (ILL) or VALE Reciprocal Borrowing.
If the Library doesn't have a book or article you need, we can most likely get it through interlibrary loan.
