Research Guides: ED 711: Legal Perspectives & Labor: Articles

Finding Articles on Collective Bargaining

Journal and magazine articles are often the best source for research and current information on collective bargaining. This section is divided into two parts:

(1) A list of the different databases available which can be used to find scholarly and magazine articles (located on this main page).

(2) An explanation of the different kinds of periodicals that contain information on collective bargaining--scholarly journals, practitioner magazines, and popular magazines--and how to identify them (located on the sub-page, "Types of Articles").

Find Articles in Online Databases

The following online databases can be searched to find articles on collective bargaining and labor relations:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. It includes more than 13,780 indexed and abstracted journals and provides full-text for 4,770 journals, including full-text for 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
This multi-disciplinary database offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. It includes more than 13,780 indexed and abstracted journals and provides full-text for 4,770 journals, including full-text for 4,000 peer-reviewed titles. You will find PDF backfiles to 1975 or further as well as searchable cited references for more than 1,050 journals. This database is an excellent source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text for over 1,000 business publications dating back to 1985.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access about 15,000 business, legal, and news sources, including federal and state case law, full-text articles from law reviews and journals, company and industry information, articles from more than 2,500 newspapers, federal regulatory documents, and international news sources.
Nexis Uni includes top-tier news publications such as The New York Times and The Washington Post and local, national, and international sources.

Law Review Articles

Selected Articles

Lewin, David. The Great Debate About unionism and collective bargaining
Kang, Susan, Right vs. Privilege
Keefe, Jeffrey H. Debunking the myth of the overcompensated public employee
Effects of Fact-Finding and Final-Offer Issue by Issue Compulsory Interest
Article by Edith Dunfee Ries in the Journal of Collective Negotiations in the Public Sector 21:1 1992
Swalwell, Katy. In the aftermath of Act 10
DiSalvo, D.The Trouble with public section unions

The Assault on Public Sector Collective Bargaining: Real Harms and Imaginary Benefits By Joseph E. Slater