It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Science Resources: Internet Resources
This guide will help you locate resources related to science.
Check out these tips when deciding to use an online source. Always be skeptical.
Authority: Who is responsible for creating the web page? Is there a publisher or sponsor of the web page? Can you find information about the author and publisher?
Audience: Who is this web site created for? Is the content geared towards an age group or population group?
Accuracy: How does the information compare to other sources?
Content: What is the content of the web site: images, articles, a blog? The type of domain (.edu, .gov, .org) may provide some clues about the information. Can you detect a bias? Are there cited references?
Currency: How recent is the web site? Is there information on when it was last updated?
The Directory of Graduate Research from the American Chemical Society is the most comprehensive source of information on chemical research and researchers at universities in North America, and can be very helpful in choosing a graduate school.
A free online collection of information about the Earth, its natural environments, and human-environmental interactions. Search the site or browse topics such as biodiversity, climate change, environmental law and policy, physics and chemistry.
Search over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. You can also explore selected science websites by topic.
Over 100,000 high resolution images ranging from ancient manuscripts, paintings, and etchings, to early photography and advertisements. The Biomedical Collection offers over 40,000 high-quality images related to disease, surgery, general healthcare, genetics, and neuroscience.
Features the collections of the Wellcome Library in London. Search the collections or browse various galleries and themes.
A wikibook based on the CHEMINFO guide developed at Indiana University. Content includes how and where to search for general and specialized chemical information, science writing aids, and careers in chemistry.
A free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 28 million structures, properties and associated information.
By integrating and linking compounds from more than 400 data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Contains tables of data, formulas, graphs and charts. Topics include fundamental constants, superconductivity, spectometry, laboratory safety, and more. Content is regularly reviewed and updated by the UK National Physical Laboratory.
Information on the biological activities of small molecules; includes substance Information, compound structures, and BioActivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively.
From the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
Search multiple databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. Content includes journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, and meeting abstracts, papers and reports. A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
On 27 November 1895, Alfred Nobel signed his last will and testament, giving the largest share of his fortune to a series of prizes, the Nobel Prizes.