Research Guides: Library Resources for Graduate and Doctoral Students: Database Alerts

Staying current with Database alerts

One way to stay current within your discipline is with email "alerts" provided by several of the online databases available through the Jennings Library. Databases and online resources with these features include:

ProQuest Central
This multidisciplinary resource contains full-text journal articles, trade journals and consumer publications from 47 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects. Subject areas include the arts and humanities, business, health, medicine, science, the social sciences, and news.
Academic Search Premier
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 4,770 full-text journals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
This multi-disciplinary database offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. It includes more than 13,780 indexed and abstracted journals and provides full-text for 4,770 journals, including full-text for 4,000 peer-reviewed titles. You will find PDF backfiles to 1975 or further as well as searchable cited references for more than 1,050 journals. This database is an excellent source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities.
ScienceDirect
Full-text articles from journals related to physical, medical, technical, and social sciences, including important autism journals such as Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders.

Chronicle of Higher Education

After logging in and creating an individual account, you can take advantage of being notified whenever articles in your areas of interest are electronically published. You can also establish an alert for new issue releases of your favorite journals.

PsycINFO
Contains citations and abstracts for journal articles, chapters, books, dissertations, and reports on psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines. Links to full-text when available from other databases.