Skip to main content Caldwell University Banner

NU306: Adult Health I: Articles

Featured Nursing Journals

These links will bring you to a few of the many peer-reviewed Nursing journals subscribed to by the Jennings Library. They include both article citations and the full-text articles from the publisher. 

Working with Research Articles

Key Databases for Nursing

Using CINAHL and MEDLINE

Searching CINAHL and MEDLINE tutorial

Search Tips for Medline and CINAHL

 Both CINAHL and Medline are great databases to use for finding nursing and other allied health articles, but generally, using the correct MeSH (medical subject heading) term in Medline or CINAHL term in CINAHL is key. If an index term does not exist for your subject, you can search it as a keyword.

    "Explode" is useful in most searches because it includes articles with subheadings to the term you are interested in.

    In EBSCO databases, the * is the symbol to use for unlimited truncation. For example, nurs* would return results with nurse, nurses, nursery, and nursing.

Find a Journal by Title

If you find an article citation in one of the databases and cannot access the full text, you may still have access in another database. If available, select the Linked full-text icon to check if the journal article is available full-text in another database. Search Electronic and Print Journals by Title


Searching with Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Use the Full-Text @ Caldwell links in the search results to link to full-text.