These reference works are a good starting point for background information at the beginning of your research, and can point you to in-depth sources related to your topic.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by 
The Penguin Dictionary of Sociology by 
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences by 
The Handbook of Economic Sociology by 
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family by 
An Introduction to the Sociology of Religion by 
Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods by 
Basic Statistics for Social Research by 
Theoretical Sociology : a concise introduction to twelve sociological theories by 
Key Sociological Thinkers by 
Theory and Explanation in Social Psychology by E-books can be accessed 24/7 with your NetID and password.
This multidisciplinary online reference library provides access to a selection of 601 reference books and 3,412,690 entries. This is good place to start exploring a topic for many introductory and intermediate classes.
The most comprehensive collection of e-books. Topics covered include business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.
More than 15,000 e-books in a variety of disciplines, including business, education, history, literature, medicine, music, political science, psychology, science, and sociology. Read online, or download to a computer or mobile device.
Online encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. You can search across all titles at once or select an individual title to search.
Can’t find what you need? You can submit an interlibrary loan request or borrow directly from a nearby library with Vale Reciprocal Borrowing.