Plague Time by 
Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations by
The thoroughly updated Second Edition of Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations grounds readers in the understanding that health promotion programs in multicultural settings require an in-depth knowledge of the cultural group being targeted. Numerous advances and improvements in theory and practice in health promotion and disease prevention (HPDP) are presented. Editors Michael V Kline and Robert M Huff have expanded the book to include increased attention directed to students and instructors while also continuing to provide a handbook for practitioners in the field. This book combines the necessary pedagogical features of a textbook with the scholarship found in a traditional handbook. Several new chapters have been added early in the text to provide stronger foundations for understanding the five sections that follow. The book considers five specific multicultural groups: Hispanic/Latino, African American, American Indian and Alaska Native, Asian American, and Pacific Islander populations. The first chapter in each of the five population group sections presents an overview devoted to understanding this special population from a variety of perspectives. The second chapter of each section explains how to assess, plan, implement, and evaluate health promotion programs for each of the specific groups. The third chapter in each section highlights a case study to emphasize points made in the overview and planning chapters. The fourth chapter in each section provides "Tips" for working with the cultural groups described in that section. New to the Second Edition " Devotes a chapter to traditional health beliefs and traditions that can help the practitioner better understand how these beliefs and traditions can impact on Western biomedical practices " Contains a new chapter that evaluates health disparities across the U.S. " Presents a new chapter that examines ethical dilemmas and considerations in a multicultural context " Offers updated citations and content throughout " Gives selected web sites of interest
Wellness by the Numbers by
Ideal for high school and lower undergraduate readers, this book provides a holistic and multifaceted look at the state of health in the United States today by examining a wide variety of health indicators against necessary background and contextual information. * Provides up-to-date, easy-to-understand, and thematically organized information on many key health topics * Covers a wide array of important and often controversial health topics, from cancer risk to depression to teen pregnancy * Models data analysis and interpretation to demonstrate how scholars and health professionals analyze data to draw conclusions, thereby guiding readers through thinking critically about the information presented * Presents thought-provoking discussion questions that invite readers to explore topics further and think more deeply about the information presented
Lifestyle Wellness Coaching by
Lifestyles have changed dramatically over the past quarter century, and along with these changes come exciting opportunities for health, wellness, and fitness professionals, including new career paths in the professional domain of health and wellness coaching. Centered on an evidence-based process for guiding change, Lifestyle Wellness Coaching, Second Edition, offers a systematic approach to helping clients achieve enduring changes in their personal health and wellness behaviors through a supportive and forward-moving coaching relationship. Formerly titled Lifestyle Fitness Coaching, the second edition of Lifestyle Wellness Coaching has been thoroughly revised and updated to keep pace with the rapidly evolving field of lifestyle coaching. The text offers powerful methodologies for those who want to embrace lifestyle coaching as their primary profession as well as for those who intend to integrate a coaching approach into their work with clients. The text is complemented by discussions, case studies, reflective opportunities, and practical aids and engages readers through multiple approaches to learning: - Sidebars provide practical guidance for enhanced understanding. - Reflection sidebars prompt readers to personally experience the content. - Dynamic coaching dialogues bring abstract concepts to life. - Typical exchanges between coaches and clients are illustrated. - The International Coach Federation's 11 core competencies are thoroughly examined to prepare readers for certification in the profession of coaching. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching, Second Edition, uses realistic coaching conversations to address issues such as the timing and types of questions to ask, how to provide feedback effectively, and how to facilitate robust action planning. Readers are presented with a broad overview of the field and detailed analysis of core ingredients to promote effective coaching relationships. The text includes essential structures for coaching conversations and practical considerations to help readers adapt materials to their unique career interests. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching introduces readers to models that clearly identify clients' progress through the stages of change. First, the text explores the popular transtheoretical model (TTM) of health-related behavior change and its delineation of six stages of clients' readiness to change. Discussion of TTM includes strategies appropriate to clients in various stages of readiness to change. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching also presents the learning-through-change model (LCM), revealing the deep layers beneath each phase of client movement toward change. Following considerations of the stages and phases of change, readers are offered a critical map for coaching clients toward goal achievement. The authors' unique flow model of coaching illustrates how professional coaches help clients navigate the sometimes turbulent events in attempting to change habitual patterns of behavior. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching, Second Edition, details how professionals engage in well-designed communication strategies to motivate, guide, inform, and support clients' processes toward personal change with a holistic approach. The text frames the boundaries of care and advice appropriate to coaching relationships. Some of the issues explored include the centrality of a trusting relationship, creating goals that are aligned with coaching processes, unblocking clients' energy and discovering resources for change, and generating forward movement through the skillful use of the International Coach Federation's 11 core competencies. Whether you want to apply certain aspects of a coaching approach with your clients or move toward adding a professional coach certification to your resume, Lifestyle Wellness Coaching, Second Edition, will serve you well. The text presents the
More than 15,000 e-books in a variety of disciplines, including business, education, history, literature, medicine, music, political science, psychology, science, and sociology. Read online, or download to a computer or mobile device.
Online encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. You can search across all titles at once or select an individual title to search.
Full-text books, reports, databases and other documents in life science and healthcare, provided by the National Library of Medicine. A service of the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and the National Library of Medicine.
Features eBooks from over 60 publishers all in the Health Sciences.