Library databases have access to articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Every database has different content. This makes it important to use a database that has content on the subject you are researching. In addition, be sure to search in more than one database to find information.
Check out these recommended databases to get started:
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 4,770 full-text journals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. This multi-disciplinary database offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. This database is an excellent source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities.
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals dating as far back as 1665. Multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal and ebook collections are offered, covering more than 50 academic disciplines in the Humanities, Life Sciences, and Social Sciences.
This multidisciplinary resource contains full-text journal articles, trade journals and consumer publications from 47 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects. Subject areas include the arts and humanities, business, health, medicine, science, the social sciences, and news.
This multidisciplinary online reference library provides access to a selection of 601 reference books and 3,412,690 entries. This is good place to start exploring a topic for many introductory and intermediate classes.
To find books or articles not available in the Jennings Library, use inter-library loan (ILL) or VALE Reciprocal Borrowing.
If the Library doesn't have a book or article you need, we can most likely get it through interlibrary loan.
For more information see the library's guide to Jennings ILL.
Another option is to use VALE Reciprocal Borrowing. To borrow directly from other academic libraries, you must first visit our Information Desk (hours) to obtain a form to take with you to the participating library.
