Research Guides: EN 301: Foundations of Western Literature: Find Scholarly Articles

Selected Journals & Issues

The following are selected journals to search or browse that have articles that are related to your research topics. To do broader database searches, choose one of the databases listed in the next box on this page.

Early Recognition in Homer's Odyssey: special issue of the journal College Literature
This special issue from March 2011 contains several articles about the question of whether Penelope knew that Odysseus had returned before their formal reunion.
Helios
Description from Gale Literature: Helios is a forum for the scholarly synthesis of close readings of philological text with contemporary critical approaches. Articles analyzing Greek and Roman literature and cultural history employ feminist theory, poststructuralism and deconstruction, psychoanalysis, reader-response theory, and current theoretical models.
Akroterion
Description from Gale Literature: Aimed at the non-specialist, articles cover all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilization, but focus especially on the influence and reception of the Classics.
The Journal of Hellenic Studies (2016 to last year)
The Journal of Hellenic Studies (1880–2020)
Description from JSTOR: The Journal of Hellenic Studies was first issued in 1880 and is internationally recognized as one of the foremost periodicals in the field of Classical scholarship. It contains articles on a wide variety of Hellenic topics, and reviews of recent books of importance to Greek studies.

Databases

The following databases are collections that have articles relevant to assignments in this class. To search beyond this, use the Discovery Search on the library homepage or check out the full database list for English.

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
A wide range of literary criticism and analysis as well as biographies from a variety of Gale literature databases, including Literature Resource Center and Gale Literature Criticism.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals dating as far back as 1665. Multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal and ebook collections are offered, covering more than 50 academic disciplines in the Humanities, Life Sciences, and Social Sciences.
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, work and topic overviews, biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. All full-text articles.