Research Guides: EN 221: Women in Literature: Finding Articles

Suggested Journals

The following are journals that publish articles on topics covered in this class. You can search within a specific journal or browse issues.

African-American Review
Publishes essays on African American literature, art and culture. Contains interviews, fiction and poems.
MELUS
MELUS features peer-reviewed articles, interviews and reviews encompassing the multi-ethnic scope of American literature past and present. Most issues are thematically organized for greater understanding of topics, criticism and theory in the total picture of American literature MELUS hopes to present.
Modern Fiction Studies
This is a scholarly journal that publishes literary articles about 20th century and contemporary fiction.
WSQ: Women's Studies Quarterly
WSQ is an interdisciplinary forum for the exchange of emerging perspectives on women, gender, and sexuality. Each thematic issue is guest edited and combines contemporary developments in feminist theory and scholarship with essays, poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction, and the visual arts.

Suggested Databases

The following are databases that are likely to have journal articles relevant to your research topics in this class.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 4,770 full-text journals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. This multi-disciplinary database offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. This database is an excellent source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
A wide range of literary criticism and analysis as well as biographies from a variety of Gale literature databases, including Literature Resource Center and Gale Literature Criticism.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals dating as far back as 1665. Multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal and ebook collections are offered, covering more than 50 academic disciplines in the Humanities, Life Sciences, and Social Sciences.
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, work and topic overviews, biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. All full-text articles.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A detailed bibliography with millions of citations for journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920s. Subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource contains full-text journal articles, trade journals and consumer publications from 47 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects. Subject areas include the arts and humanities, business, health, medicine, science, the social sciences, and news.