Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get familiar with Cyber Security
Cyber Security by
Publication Date: 2014-01-16
Cyber Security features articles from the Wiley Handbook of Science and Technology for Homeland Security covering topics related to cybernbsp;security metrics and measurenbsp; andnbsp;related technologies that meetnbsp;security needs. Specific applications to web services, the banking and the finance sector, and industrial process control systems are discussed.
Publication Date: 2011-12-20
The Internet has given rise to new opportunities for the public sector to improve efficiency and better serve constituents. But with an increasing reliance on the Internet, digital tools are also exposing the public sector to new risks. This accessible primer focuses on the convergence of globalization, connectivity, and the migration of public sector functions online. It examines emerging trends and strategies from around the world and offers practical guidance for addressing contemporary risks. It supplies an overview of relevant U.S. Federal cyber incident response policies and outlines an organizational framework for assessing risk.
Cyberwar, Cyberterror, Cybercrime and Cyberactivism by
Publication Date: 2014-05-08
The goals of the cyberterrorist, the cyberactivist and cyber attacks originating from nation states are normally quite different. However, the techniques they use to achieve their goals are similar: stealing information/exfiltration, disrupting business-as-usual operations or organisations and undermining political/economic credibility.
Security in the Digital World by
Publication Date: 2017-11-28
"Love the fact that it jumped in with 10 top tips for security, a great opening to the book... Excellent section on phishing emails/vishing/smishing, with great practical examples ..." Christopher Wright, Wright-CandA Consulting Ltd Protect yourself from cyber threats and risks Cyberspace, the Internet, computer networks, the digital world - call it what you will - is always developing. And so are the threats and risks of being online. Security in the Digital World explains the common digital threats to home users, home offices, mobile users, consumers and parents alike, as well as providing tips, advice and guidance.
Understanding Personal Security and Risk by
Publication Date: 2017-03-03
Uniting broad, time-tested security principles and the author's 35-plus years of experience with international security, intelligence, and foreign affairs, Understanding Personal Security: A Guide for Business Travelers offers a detailed yet practical framework on which to develop personal security awareness and training programs. As a critical resource for any travelers who may need to make fast, smart judgements in high-risk environments, this book helps readers analyze threats, threat actors, and the common adversarial characteristics, as well as the function of risk as a differentiating principle. This versatile text blends abstract organizing principles with street honed instincts, becoming equally valuable to security managers with previous experience and those corporate or non-profit organizations with employees in developing nations.
Cyber Security ideas
Building an Intelligence-Led Security Program by
Publication Date: 2014-12-10
As recently as five years ago, securing a network meant putting in a firewall, intrusion detection system, and installing antivirus software on the desktop. Unfortunately, attackers have grown more nimble and effective, meaning that traditional security programs are no longer effective. Today's effective cyber security programs take these best practices and overlay them with intelligence. Adding cyber threat intelligence can help security teams uncover events not detected by traditional security platforms and correlate seemingly disparate events across the network.
Cyber Smart by
Publication Date: 2018-12-06
An easy-to-read guide to protecting your digital life and your family online The rise of new technologies in our lives, which has taken us from powerful mobile phones to fitness trackers and smart appliances in under a decade, has also raised the need for everyone who uses these to protect themselves from cyber scams and hackers. Every new device and online service you use that improves your life also opens new doors for attackers looking to discover your passwords, banking accounts, personal photos, and anything else you want to keep secret. In Cyber Smart, author Bart McDonough uses
Cybersecurity - Attack and Defense Strategies by
Publication Date: 2018-01-30
Enhance your organization's secure posture by improving your attack and defense strategies Key Features Gain a clear understanding of the attack methods, and patterns to recognize abnormal behavior within your organization with Blue Team tactics. Learn to unique techniques to gather exploitation intelligence, identify risk and demonstrate impact with Red Team and Blue Team strategies. A practical guide that will give you hands-on experience to mitigate risks and prevent attackers from infiltrating your system.
Solving Cyber Risk by
Publication Date: 2018-12-12
The non-technical handbook for cyber security risk management Solving Cyber Risk distills a decade of research into a practical framework for cyber security. Blending statistical data and cost information with research into the culture, psychology, and business models of the hacker community, this book provides business executives, policy-makers, and individuals with a deeper understanding of existing future threats, and an action plan for safeguarding their organizations. Key Risk Indicators reveal vulnerabilities based on organization type, IT infrastructure and existing security measures, while expert discussion from leading cyber risk specialists details practical, real-world methods of risk reduction and mitigation. By the nature of the business, your organization's customer database is packed with highly sensitive information that is essentially hacker-bait, and even a minor flaw in security protocol could spell disaster.
The Cyber Risk Handbook by
Publication Date: 2017-04-03
Actionable guidance and expert perspective for real-world cybersecurity The Cyber Risk Handbook is the practitioner's guide to implementing, measuring and improving the counter-cyber capabilities of the modern enterprise. The first resource of its kind, this book provides authoritative guidance for real-world situations, and cross-functional solutions for enterprise-wide improvement. Beginning with an overview of counter-cyber evolution, the discussion quickly turns practical with design and implementation guidance for the range of capabilities expected of a robust cyber risk management system that is integrated with the enterprise risk management (ERM) system. ent.
More on Cyber Security
Cybersecurity Law by
Publication Date: 2019-02-25
This book gives insight into the legal aspects of data ownership in the 21st century. With the amount of information being produced and collected growing at an ever accelerating rate, governments are implementing laws to regulate the use of this information by corporations. Companies are more likely than ever to face heavy lawsuits and sanctions for any misuse of information, which includes data breaches caused by cybercriminals.
Hands-On Cybersecurity with Blockchain by
Publication Date: 2018-06-28
Develop blockchain application with step-by-step instructions, working example and helpful recommendations Key Features Understanding the blockchain technology from the cybersecurity perspective Developing cyber security solutions with Ethereum blockchain technology Understanding real-world deployment of blockchain based applications Book Description Blockchain technology is being welcomed as one of the most revolutionary and impactful innovations of today. Blockchain technology was first identified in the world's most popular digital currency, Bitcoin, but has now changed the outlook of several organizations and empowered them to use it even for storage and transfer of value.
Building Effective Cybersecurity Programs by
Publication Date: 2017-10-20
You know by now that your company could not survive without the Internet. Not in today's market. You are either part of the digital economy or reliant upon it. With critical information assets at risk, your company requires a state-of-the-art cybersecurity program. But how do you achieve the best possible program? Tari Schreider, in Building Effective Cybersecurity Programs: A Security Manager's Handbook, lays out the step-by-step roadmap to follow as you build or enhance your cybersecurity program. Over 30+ years, Tari Schreider has designed and implemented cybersecurity programs throughout the world, helping hundreds of companies like yours.
Trusting Records in the Cloud by
Publication Date: 2019-07-01
This book presents up-to-date research and offers concrete guidelines for records professionals concerned with challenges to records in the online environment including privacy, accessibility, portability, metadata and ownership. Trusting Records in the Cloud presents the key findings of the InterPARES Trust project, which has investigated issues of trust in and trustworthiness of records in the cloud environment. The project generated theoretical and methodological frameworks to develop local, national and international policies, procedures, regulations, standards and legislation, in order to ensure public trust grounded on evidence of good governance, a strong digital economy, and a persistent digital memory.