Research Guides: Anthropology Research Guide: Articles

Journals, Magazines and Newspapers

Is there a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper you want to search?

Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to it.

Recommended Databases

Library databases have access to articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Every database has different content. This makes it important to use a database that has content on the subject you are researching. In addition, be sure to search in more than one database to find information.

Check out these recommended databases to get started:

Social Science Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 1000 journals, mostly full-text, covering core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
Includes journals from over 50 countries.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, social development, social psychology, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, and others.
In addition to the full-text journals included in the database, extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, periodicals and other non-periodical content sources is also included.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Arts & Sciences includes core journals in anthropology, archaeology, sociology, history, religion, and several other key fields in the social sciences.
National Geographic Archives This link opens in a new window
Issues from 1888 to 1994 of the award-winning magazine. Features in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology, and the environment; and spectacular photographic essays.
World Geography and Culture This link opens in a new window
Study all aspects of a country, with facts at a glance and in-depth coverage through country entries, maps, flags, images, statistics, news articles, a gazetteer, and more.

Click here to see more social science databases.

Can't find what you're looking for?

To find books or articles not available in the Jennings Library, use inter-library loan (ILL) or VALE Reciprocal Borrowing.

If the Library doesn't have a book or article you need, we can most likely get it through interlibrary loan.

Log on to Jennings ILL and submit an interlibrary loan request.

For more information see the library's guide to Jennings ILL.

Another option is to use VALE Reciprocal Borrowing. To borrow directly from other academic libraries, you must first visit our Information Desk (hours) to obtain a form to take with you to the participating library.