Art history research is not always straightforward and can be frustrating at times. Unless you're researching a very popular piece of art, you may have a hard time finding scholarly articles about the piece you've chosen. But don't worry! Here are a few tips that might help:
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 4,770 full-text journals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. This multi-disciplinary database offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. This database is an excellent source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from scholarly journals on a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture. This database features full-text articles from more than 320 periodicals dating back to 1977, and indexing of more than 210,000 art reproductions. Art Full Text also supplies indexing and abstracts for over 660 periodicals dating back to 1972, including nearly 360 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 14,000 art dissertations.
This multidisciplinary online reference library provides access to a selection of 601 reference books and 3,412,690 entries. This is good place to start exploring a topic for many introductory and intermediate classes.
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals dating as far back as 1665. Multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal and ebook collections are offered, covering more than 50 academic disciplines in the Humanities, Life Sciences, and Social Sciences.
Search the Grove Art Online for articles and updates on every aspect of the visual arts, from prehistory to the present, with images of the most frequently studied works of art. You can find the option to also search The Concise Dictionary of Oxford Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Oxford Companion to Western Art from the search results page.
*Note: you can save content/searches by creating a Personal Profile (top right). Please ignore the institutional sign in underneath the "Caldwell University" text (left of page).
This multidisciplinary resource contains full-text journal articles, trade journals and consumer publications from 47 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects. Subject areas include the arts and humanities, business, health, medicine, science, the social sciences, and news.
