Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Caldwell University Banner

MU122: Language of Music: Library Databases

This guide will help you locate resources related to musical styles, time periods, and musical pieces, and get started on your research.

Website Evaluation Tips

Check out these tips when deciding to use an online source. Always be skeptical. 

  • Authority: Who is responsible for creating the web page? Is there a publisher or sponsor of the web page? Can you find information about the author and publisher? 
  • Audience: Who is this web site created for? Is the content geared towards an age group or population group? 
  • Accuracy: How does the information compare to other sources?
  • Content: What is the content of the web site: images, articles, a blog? The type of domain (.edu, .gov, .org) may provide some clues about the information.  Can you detect a bias? Are there cited references?
  • Currency: How recent is the web site? Is there information on when it was last updated?

Databases

Library databases have access to articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Every database has different content. This makes it important to use a database that has content on the subject you are researching. In addition, be sure to search in more than one database to find information.

Check out these recommended databases to get started:

Articles about Time Period

Off Campus Access

You don't have to be in the Library to access articles and databases.

The Library's resources can be accessed anytime, anywhere with your NetID and password.