Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Caldwell University Banner

NU308: Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice: Articles

Find a Journal by Title

If you find an article citation in one of the databases and cannot access the full text, you may still have access in another database. If available, select the Linked full-text icon to check if the journal article is available full-text in another database.

Search Journals (electronic & print) by Title

Open Access Databases

National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
The NGC mission is to provide physicians, nurses, and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation and use. The NGC offers:

  • Structured abstracts (summaries) about the guideline and its development
  • Links to full-text guidelines, where available, and/or ordering information for print copies
  • A Guideline Comparison utility that gives users the ability to generate side-by-side comparisons for any combination of two or more guidelines.

TRIP
The TRIP Database started in 1997 as a result of the work of the founders in answering clinical questions. One of the remits of answering the clinical questions was to return them in a clinically relevant time frame. As well as being quick the clinical questions needed to be answered using the best available evidence. Therefore, to identify the best evidence involved moving from website to website in order to identify relevant material. If each site took 5 minutes to search and 12 websites were examined it added an hour to the search time. If all the content were searchable at one website it would significantly improve the search time. Initially, a manual search of each evidence-based site was undertaken with titles, URL and year of publication recorded in a spreadsheet. Shortly afterwards a chance conversation led to the spreadsheet being converted to a crude web-based search engine.

Subscription Databases

My Librarian

Profile Photo
Victoria Swanson
Contact:
120 Bloomfield Avenue
Caldwell, NJ 07006
viswanson@caldwell.edu
973-618-3311