Library News

Welcome back to all of our returning students, we are so happy to see you! And to all incoming freshmen…WELCOME TO CALDWELL!

Here are just a few of the many helpful resources that the Jennings Library has to offer:

Group study rooms!
We have 4 group study rooms available in the Library. Rooms can be booked for up to 3 hours a day. You can reserve a study room here! If you're just looking for a quiet place to study solo, the Rotunda on the second floor is a designated quiet-study area, and there are desks tucked away in the stacks that are also nice and quiet.

Textbooks!
We have a selection of textbooks available on Course Reserve. These books are located at the Information Desk. They can be checked out for 2 hours and are for Library use only. You can search here to find out if we have your textbook!

Remote printing!
Learn more here about how to print using your own device! You can also use any of the Library's desktop computers to print.

Laptops and Chromebooks!
Caldwell University students can check out a laptop or Chromebook from the Library for 2 weeks. Please note that we've recently updated our laptop lending policy - you can read more about that here! You can ask about checking out a laptop or Chromebook at the Information Desk.

Research and citation help!
Ask a friendly librarian for help with finding and citing sources for your assignments! You can stop by the Information Desk if you're on campus, or you can chat with a librarian online. You can also schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian. We are here 7 days a week!

How are we doing? Let us know by taking our Usage & Satisfaction Survey! 

The survey asks students about the ways they use the library and about their level of satisfaction with various library resources and services. It will take about 5-10 minutes, and all answers are anonymous. Your opinions are important to us, and your responses will help us improve our technology, spaces, and services.

Take the survey here. We really value your feedback!

*If you complete the survey between 4/28 and 5/2, you can get a free cup of coffee (or tea)! Just show a library staff member that you completed it. Thank you!*

Are you presenting your work at Research Day this year? If so, please consider contributing your project to the Caldwell University Archives' digital collections in JSTOR.  

WHY? By sharing your research with the Archives, you are not only contributing to Caldwell's rich history but also to a global community of researchers and scholars on JSTOR. It also doesn't look too bad on a resume!

The Archives accepts submissions of CRaCAD research project abstracts, papers, and / or posters in electronic format.

You can view the digital collection here. You can fill out this online form to submit your work to the Archives.

If you have any questions, please send an email to archives@caldwell.edu.

The Jennings Library is pleased to announce two new databases:

These databases feature a wide variety of content, such as reference articles, scholarly articles from peer-reviewed journals, news articles, primary sources, images, videos, and more. You can access them from the A-Z database list on the Library website!

Jennings Library is hosting four workshops this spring! Join us to learn how to form your research topic, cite your sources, and stay organized using citation tools. Each workshop will take place in the Instruction Lab on the 2nd floor of the library.

• Wednesday, March 26 @ noon: How to Form Your Topic
• Wednesday, April 2 @ noon: Citations in MLA Format
• Wednesday, April 9 @ noon: Getting Organized with Citation Tools
• Wednesday, April 16 @ noon: Citations in APA Format

There is more information about each workshop on the library events calendar. We hope to see you there!

Let's face it, final exams are stressful! Between all of the studying, memorizing, paper-writing, and everything else, it's easy to start feeling overwhelmed. But don't worry - the Jennings Library is here to help! Here are a few ways you can de-stress during finals week at Jennings Library:

• Free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate! (and hot water, too!)
  • Just stop by the library lobby and grab a hot beverage from our coffee machine for free. 
• Take a break with a fun and relaxing activity, either by yourself or with friends!
  • We will have activities such as puzzles, board games, coloring, Legos, and bubble wrap in the lobby and reference room during finals week.
• Check out our De-Stress: Finals Week guide!
  • We've put together a great guide full of fun and free ways to de-stress, such as games, virtual escape rooms, and more.

The Jennings Library will also have extended hours during finals week! We will be open 8am - 2am Monday, 12/9 through Thursday, 12/12. You can find the hours on the Library homepage.

Remember, it's okay to take a break!! You can do this, we believe in you! 

Disinformation is scary!

Join us for a scholarly discussion and workshop about evaluating information and thinking critically about information sources! The discussion will focus on the book "Truths: The Future of America First" by Vivek Ramaswamy. This event is open to all faculty, staff, and students.

WHEN: Wednesday, October 30 @ 12pm - 1pm

WHERE: Westervelt Lecture Hall (Werner)

If you are interested in attending this event, please register here.

This event is brought to you by the CU Literature & Film Club, Jennings Library, the CU Social Justice Institute, and the Academic Success Center.

Having trouble with citations? Don't worry, we can help!!

There are many ways to learn more about citations and citation tools! Try one of the following:

• Stop by the Information Desk or chat online with a friendly librarian
• Check out our list of short videos and tutorials - we've arranged them here on the Citation Season page!
• Learn about free citation generator tools
• Attend a workshop!

Check with your professor - they may offer extra credit for completing one (or more!) of these activities!

The Library will be hosting several citation workshops this semester for both MLA and APA formats:

MLA

• Thursday, 10/31 @ 12pm in the Instruction Lab (Halloween themed! We'll have candy!!)
• Tuesday, 11/12 @ 12pm in the CMS

APA

• Saturday 11/2 @ 2pm (online)
• Wednesday 11/13 @ 12pm in the CMS

You can find more information about these workshops on the Library Events Calendar!

September 17 is Constitution Day!

Constitution Day commemorates the signing of the United States Constitution by the Founding Fathers on September 17, 1787.  This day is also known as Citizenship Day, and celebrates all who have become U.S. citizens by birth or naturalization. 

Celebrate Constitution Day by taking the Scavenger Hunt for a chance to win a $25 Visa gift card! The Scavenger Hunt will run from September 16 - 23.

Interested in learning more about the Constitution? Take a look at our Constitution Day research guide, which includes books, videos, websites, and other resources about the Constitution.

The Constitution Day Scavenger Hunt is sponsored by the Jennings Library and the Department of History & Political Science.

Welcome back to all of our returning students, we are so happy to see you! And to all incoming freshmen…WELCOME TO CALDWELL! 

Here are just a few of the many helpful resources that the Jennings Library has to offer:

Group study rooms!

We have 4 group study rooms available in the Library. Rooms can be booked for up to 3 hours a day. You can reserve a study room here! If you're just looking for a quiet place to study solo, the Rotunda on the second floor is a designated quiet-study area, and there are desks tucked away in the stacks that are also nice and quiet.

Textbooks!

We have a selection of textbooks available on Course Reserve. These books are located at the Information Desk. They can be checked out for 2 hours and are for Library use only. You can search here to find out if we have your textbook!

Remote printing!

Learn more here about how to print using your own device! You can also use any of the Library's desktop computers to print.

Laptops and Chromebooks!

Caldwell University students can check out a laptop or Chromebook from the Library. They can be checked out for a semester loan, and are available on a first-come, first-served basis. You can ask about checking out a laptop or Chromebook at the Information Desk.

Research and citation help!

Ask a friendly librarian for help with finding and citing sources for your assignments! You can stop by the Information Desk if you're on campus, or you can chat with a librarian online. You can also schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian. We are here 7 days a week!