Essential Epidemiology
by
Taking a practical approach and supported by global examples from all areas of health, the new edition of this popular and highly commended textbook has been updated to reflect current epidemiological thinking and teaching. Based on feedback from teachers and students, material has been reordered to better suit courses and reflect the underlying logic and purpose of epidemiology. * Provides students with a rounded picture of the field by emphasizing the commonalities across different areas of epidemiology, including clinical epidemiology, and highlighting the key role of epidemiology in public health * Avoids complex mathematics by restricting this to optional material, thereby keeping the book accessible to students from non-quantitative backgrounds * Integrated and supplementary questions help students to reinforce concepts * A wealth of online material is available at www.cambridge.org/essential_epidemiology, including additional questions, advanced material for key concepts, recommendations for further reading, links to useful websites and slides for teaching, supporting both students and teachers.
Essentials of Epidemiology in Public Health
by
Essentials of Epidemiology in Public Health, Fourth Edition combines theory and practice in presenting traditional and new epidemiologic concepts. Broad in scope, the text opens with five chapters covering the basic epidemiologic concepts and data sources. A major emphasis is placed on study design, with separate chapters devoted to each of the three main analytic designs: experimental, cohort, and case-control studies. Full chapters on bias, confounding, and random error, including the role of statistics in epidemiology, ensure that students are well-equipped with the necessary information to interpret the results of epidemiologic studies. Up-to-date examples from the epidemiologic literature on diseases of public health importance are provided throughout the book. Key Features: * New examples and the latest public health statistics throughout * Coverage of the Ebola outbreak including an in-depth investigation of what happened * New examples that illustrate epidemiological principles including a greater emphasis on social factors that influence health, such as racism * Straightforward descriptions of the latest epidemiologic methods including mediation analysis, agent-based modelling, and the use of directed acyclic graphs (DAGs) to assess confounding. * An expanded glossary and key terms highlighted throughout the text
Essentials of Health Behavior
by
Health promotion, education, and prevention programs ultimately focus on changing health behavior. Essentials of Health Behavior, Second Edition provides the groundwork for understanding, assessing, and effectively applying theories of human behavior within the practice of public health. In clear and accessible language, it provides the student with a background of the kinds of social and behavioral theories that guide our understanding of health related behavior and form the background for health promotion and prevention efforts. Filled with real life examples and profiles, the text explores some of the ways in which these theories and approaches are used in applied health promotion efforts. This book will: - Introduce students to the relationship between behavior and a selection of major health issues. - Provide an introductory background to the kinds of social and behavioral theories that guide our understanding of health related behavior and form the background for health promotion and prevention efforts. - Explore some of the ways in which these theories and approaches are used in applied health promotion efforts. The Second Edition offers: - New chapter on multi-level theories and frameworks - Updated examples of application and practice throughout - Additional information on several of the theories presented, such as the Diffusion of Innovations theory and the Social Cognitive Theory Looking for more real-life evidence? Check out Cases 3, 5-11, 13, 18, & 20 in Essential Case Studies in Public Health, Putting Public Health into Practice.
Health Behavior
by
The essential health behavior text, updated with the latesttheories, research, and issues Health Behavior: Theory, Research and Practice provides athorough introduction to understanding and changing healthbehavior, core tenets of the public health role. Covering theory,applications, and research, this comprehensive book has become thegold standard of health behavior texts. This new fifth edition hasbeen updated to reflect the most recent changes in the publichealth field with a focus on health behavior, including coverage ofthe intersection of health and community, culture, andcommunication, with detailed explanations of both established andemerging theories. Offering perspective applicable at theindividual, interpersonal, group, and community levels, thisessential guide provides the most complete coverage of the field togive public health students and practitioners an authoritativereference for both the theoretical and practical aspects of healthbehavior. A deep understanding of human behaviors is essential foreffective public health and health care management. This guideprovides the most complete, up-to-date information in the field, togive you a real-world understanding and the background knowledge toapply it successfully. Learn how e-health and social media factor into healthcommunication Explore the link between culture and health, and the importanceof community Get up to date on emerging theories of health behavior andtheir applications Examine the push toward evidence-based interventions, andglobal applications Written and edited by the leading health and social behaviortheorists and researchers, Health Behavior: Theory, Research andPractice provides the information and real-world perspectivethat builds a solid understanding of how to analyze and improvehealth behaviors and health.
Introduction to Epidemiology
by
Introduction to Epidemiology, Seventh Edition Includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access
Public Health Law Research
by
Public Health Law Research: Theory and Methodsdefinitively explores the mechanisms, theories and models centralto public health law research - a growing field dedicated tomeasuring and studying law as a central means for advancing publichealth. Editors Alexander C. Wagenaar and Scott Burris outlineintegrated theory drawn from numerous disciplines in the social andbehavioral sciences; specific mechanisms of legal effect andguidelines for collecting and coding empirical datasets ofstatutory and case law; optimal research designs for randomizedtrials and natural experiments for public health law evaluation;and methods for qualitative and cost-benefit studies of law.. Theyalso discuss the challenge of effectively translating the resultsof scientific evaluations into public health laws and highlight theimpact of this growing field. "How exactly the law can best be used as a tool forprotecting and enhancing the public's health has long beenthe subject of solely opinion and anecdote. Enter PublicHealth Law Research, a discipline designed to bring the brightlight of science to the relationships between law and health. This book is a giant step forward in illuminating thatsubject." -- Stephen Teret, JD, MPH, Professor, Director,Center for Law and the Public's Health, Johns Hopkins BloombergSchool of Public Health "Wagenaar and Burris bring a dose of much needed rigor tothe empirical study of which public health law interventions reallymatter, and which don't." -- Bernard S. Black, JD,Chabraja Professor, Northwestern University Law School and KelloggSchool of Management Companion Web site: www.josseybass.com/go/wagenaar
Transforming Public Health Practice
by
This text provides students a foundation in public healthpractice and management, focusing on developing the knowledge andskills required by the real world of public health. The authors ofTransforming Public Health Practice explain the drivers of changein public health practice, key success factors for public healthprograms, dealing with the chronic disease burden, the impact ofnational health policy on public health practice, and tools forunderstanding and managing population health. Transforming Public Health Practice covers core leadership andmanagement skills, covering areas such as politics, workforce,partnership and collaboration, change management, outcomesorientation, opportunities for improvement, health equity, andfuture challenges. Case studies highlight innovations in healtheducation, working with people with disabilities, partnerships inresponse to disease outbreaks, and health programs. Learningobjectives, chapter summaries, key terms, and discussion questionsenhance each chapter. A downloadable instructors' supplement isavailable on the companion Web site for the book.
Valuing Care Work
by
Valuing Care Work is an international comparative study that examines economic organizations as well as intimate settings to show how personal service work is shaped by broader welfare state developments.
E-books can be accessed 24/7 with your NetID and password.
The most comprehensive collection of e-books. Topics covered include business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.
To find books or articles not available in the Jennings Library, use inter-library loan (ILL) or VALE Reciprocal Borrowing.
If the Library doesn't have a book or article you need, we can most likely get it through interlibrary loan.
For more information see the library's guide to Jennings ILL.
Another option is to use VALE Reciprocal Borrowing. To borrow directly from other academic libraries, you must first visit our Information Desk (hours) to obtain a form to take with you to the participating library.