Career Planning

Written by successful career coach Lily Whiteman, who herself has climbed the federal career ladder and served as a hiring manager, this indispensable book is the ultimate guide to securing a job in government work. How to Land a Top-Paying Federal Job steers federal applicants through every stage of their job search--from finding unadvertised openings and getting interviews to sealing enviable deals and even getting promoted. You'll gain insights from more than one hundred federal hiring managers, and learn the secrets to impressing these gatekeepers online, on paper, and in person. The updated second edition of How to Land a Top-Paying Federal Job includes more get-ahead tips, the latest hiring advice on writing winning applications, expanded directories for internships, listings of fast-track management training programs and fellowships, and information on emerging helpful websites and other resources. Complete with a companion CD filled with sample resumes, checklists, and templates, the book gives readers in all fifty states with big dreams of climbing the federal career ladder the inside scoop on landing some of the nation's most secure, well-paying, and rewarding jobs.

Job hunting can be discouraging, especially in today's world of electronic resumes, background checks, and keyword searches. How can you break through the data overload and ensure your skills and talents are obvious to a potential employer? Whether you are a new nurse looking for your first job or an experienced professional changing specialties, moving up the ladder, or re-entering the workforce, Lisa Mauri Thomas helps you learn how to map out the best strategies for landing your perfect nursing job. From networking to interviewing, Thomas shows you how to market yourself and your nursing skills, including: Improving your cover letter and resume writing abilities; Prepping and practicing for interviews; Networking like a pro all day, every day; Planning and managing your job search with handy checklists and customizable calendars. Book jacket.

At some point, most people have been caught off guard by tough interview questions. This book helps readers take charge of the situation! In Acing the Interview, the employment expert Dr. Phil called "the best of the best" gives job seekers candid advice for answering even the most unexpected questions, including: You really don't have as much experience as we would like--why should we hire you? * How many hours in your previous jobs did you have to work each week to get everything done? * What do you consider most valuable--a high salary, job recognition, or advancement? The book also arms readers with questions to ask prospective employers that could prevent their making a big job mistake: What would you say are the worst parts of this job? * What are the major problems facing the company and this department? * Why aren't you promoting from within? Taking readers through the entire process, from the initial interview to evaluating a job offer, and even into salary negotiation, Acing the Interview is a no-nonsense, take-no-prisoners guide to interview success.

This collection of resumes and cover letters is aimed at teachers at all levels, educational administrators, and other educators and trainers. The book gives strategies as well as 180 pages of sample resumes for teachers and educators. The authors present sound resume and cover letter writing advice, including an all new chapter on how to create and use an electronic resume. The appendix includes Internet resources for an effective online job search.

Building your résumé should be one of the easier parts to the whole job-interview process. But instead it's becoming increasingly stressful as well! What kind of résumé will spark the employer's interest? Which kind most often get passed over? How far back are we supposed to go? How can we best explain those time gaps in between jobs? Are the rules different for online résumés? There are so many vital questions when it comes to building a résumé today, but only one way to be assured you're getting the right answers--by asking a hiring expert.Scott Bennett has hired hundreds of people in a variety of industries, and he knows firsthand the insights that will catch an employer's eye, as well as what dangers to avoid if you want to survive the first cut. In The Elements of Résumé Style, Bennett shows readers how to craft clear, compelling, targeted résumés and cover letters that actually work. In this new edition that includes social media and online-application tips, readers will be provided:* More than 1,400 action words, statements, and position descriptions that help sell your skills and experience.

America's leading job search and career guidance expert presents his definitive guide to resumes, offering well-researched and proven techniques; a friendly, easy-to-follow design, rock-solid advice to create outstanding resumes and, more importantly, use the effectively. The very easy-to-use first section of the book shows how to create a basic resume in about an hour and an improved resume in about half a day. The new edition includes more than 90 sample resumes written by professional resume writers for all types of jobs and people. This book also provides excellent career counselling sections to help people define their ideal job then go out and get is. The Quick Resume and Cover Letter Book can help anyone find a job, from high school graduates to high-level professionals.

This collection of resumes and cover letters is aimed at teachers at all levels, educational administrators, and other educators and trainers. The book gives strategies as well as 180 pages of sample resumes for teachers and educators. The authors present sound resume and cover letter writing advice, including an all new chapter on how to create and use an electronic resume. The appendix includes Internet resources for an effective online job search.

This collection of resumes is aimed at computer professionals at all levels, from entry-level to executive. The book gives strategies as well as 180 sample resumes and cover letters for computer, Web, and IT professionals. The authors present sound resume and cover letter writing advice, including an all-new chapter on how to create and use an electronic resume. The appendix includes Internet job search resources.

Louise M. Kursmark is co-author of the Expert Resume series, and is president and founder of Best Impression Career Services, Inc. in Cincinnati Ohio. Best Impression is a company specializing in resumes and job search strategies for sales, marketing, and executive clients worldwide. She is a Certified Professional Resume Writer (CPRW), Certified Employment Interview Professional (CEIP), Job and Career Transition Coach (JCTC), and Credentialed Career Manager (CCM). She is a founding member of the Career Management Alliance, an Internet-based training and development organization for career professionals.

If you are like 99.9% of all other professionals, you have less experience turning job interviews into job offers than you have with any other essential professional skill. Knock 'em Dead Job Interview will turn this weakness into strength, giving you a set of invaluable skills that you will still be using to sustain your professional growth and stability throughout the balance of your career. You'll learn how to prepare for job interviews and pick up tips for answering over 300 of the most frequently asked interview questions, including behavioral questions. You won't get canned answers, but rather an explanation of the thinking behind each question, and a preparation methodology that ensures you'll always know how best to answer truthfully and effectively.

Even with a fairly detailed job description or a briefing by a knowledgeable recruiter, job candidates rarely have all the tools they need to ace their interviews. This is one of the reasons why interviews are so harrowing--we have to pay close attention to what we're told, what we're not told, and the many non-verbal signals we receive. In addition, many people who conducts the interviews aren't well-prepared, haven't been trained in interviewing, and often don't even like the process. The Essential Job Interview Handbook will help job seekers prepare effectively for interviews and become familiar with different types of interview questions and styles of interviews. A unique feature of this book is the multiple answers it provides for each question, rated good, better, and best; with this feature, you'll learn what makes a winning answer and understand the strategy behind it. Whether you're just finishing school or have been working a long time, The Essential Job Interview Handbook will give you all the powerful tools you need to not just get a job, but to get the right one.

It is not hard to be a research active academic, or to build a research group, or to create a research culture. Here are sensible strategies available to everyone, and that empower everyone in higher education. Seizing the opportunities, refusing to be a victim, and most importantly learning how the system works, are among the strategies available to anyone motivated to succeed. This book takes a radical, unstuffy look at higher education. It is of interest and relevance to anyone working in the higher education sector. Based on the authors research on research groups, and on their experience as Head of Department, Dean and Pro Vice-Chancellor, the book provides advice for younger academics making their way in the system, and for more senior people who need to mentor research staff, build research groups and shape research-led careers. The book provides practical advice on key aspects of research activity: getting research grants, publishing in peer-reviewed journals, and writing books. The current climate of research activity is discussed in the context of Research Assessment, and the context of glittering prizes.

This comprehensive and easy-to-use guide is an invaluable resource to help you choose a rewarding counseling career that best suits your interests, strengths, and personality. Exploring a wealth of career opportunities in both traditional and non-traditional settings, including the most exciting emerging fields, this useful reference describes the many benefits found in the work of a professional counselor. Each career listing includes an overview, salary range, employment prospects, best and most challenging aspects of the job, and educational and licensing requirements. In addition, the book helps guide you through financing your education and the job search process. As a special feature, chapters include profiles of actual counselors and their work, providing an insightful insider's perspective on their profession. Key Features: .: Explores 101 counseling careers, including careers in non-traditional and emerging fields; Offers helpful career development tools such as checklists and questionnaires; Includes salary range, employment prospects, and best and worst aspects of each job; Provides guidance on educational requirements, licensure, and continuing education; Highlights and profiles real-life counselors and their experience

Business analysis is a crucial discipline for organisational success. It is a broad field and has matured into a profession with its own unique career roadmap.This practical guide explores the business analyst role including typical responsibilities and necessary skills. It signposts useful tools and commonly used methodologies and techniques. A visual career roadmap for business analysts is also included, along with case studies and interviews with practising business analysts.

Identifying personal and professional strengths and opportunities for future development -- Joining professional nursing organizations to grow personally and professionally -- Portfolio development : an essential tool for professional advancement and recognition -- Validating one's distinction when seeking professional recognition -- Selecting appropriate nominators and sponsors -- Admission to graduate school : crafting successful applications -- How to land fellowships and internships by expressing your professional best -- Expressing your professional best through persuasive communication -- Advocating for professional nursing organizations -- Expressing your professional best : one of nursing's best : her personal journey.

This book is intended to assist current graduate students; those interested in a graduate degree in the fields of counseling and psychology and those who have graduated from a graduate program in counseling and psychology gain the information necessary to choose the appropriate career path. Graduate schools offer academic training in a variety of counseling and psychology disciplines, such as: counseling psychology, school psychology, mental health counseling, school counseling and etc. At the graduate level it is most expedient for students to choose a discipline at the beginning of their program. Delays and changes after the first or second semester can prove to be very costly and time consuming. Most graduate programs offer open houses and information sessions, provide information about their degree offerings through their website and provide faculty advisement to students interested in pursuing careers in counseling and psychology.

Career Planning for Research Bioscientists is an essential careers guide for bioscience doctoral students and postdoctoral researchers. It contains a wealth of information and resources specifically targeted at research bioscientists, with practical strategies to enhance career success in an increasingly competitive job market. Advice on how to write a winning CV together with examples adapted for different jobs is presented, as well as practical exercises to assist with skills analysis and decision making. Profiles of PhD-qualified bioscienstists in a range of professions including academic research, industry, science communication, management and consultancy provide valuable insights into how others have managed their careers, and tactics such as networking and using social media demonstrate how new opportunities can be discovered. The content of this book is aimed primarily at research bioscientists, however much of the advice and information will be a useful reference for other students and researchers looking for an effective career planning strategy. A companion website with additional resources is available at www.wiley.com/go/blackford/careerplanning and you can visit Sarah Blackford's blog at www.biosciencecareers.org for more information.