Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Caldwell University Banner

JSTOR Forum: FAQs

This guide will provide an overview of JSTOR Forum, how to access Caldwell's institutional collections, and inform users of what is available in those collections.

Contact

For more information, please contact the Caldwell University Archives in the Jennings Library:

(937) 618-3329

archives@caldwell.edu

Frequently Asked Questions

Who can access Caldwell University's institutional collections?
At this time, only users with an active CU netID may access the institutional collections.  We are currently working on making collections available through Artstor's public collections, where they could be accessed by anyone with an Internet connection.

How can I use the materials in JSTOR Forum/Artstor?
The rights to the materials in Caldwell's institutional collections belong to either Caldwell University or the individual(s) responsible for creating them.  Items may be used for educational purposes or, when the materials belong to the University, for any activity associated with the campus (i.e. advertisement, social media posts, displays, etc.).  Faculty may use the collections in their classes.  For examples of how other universities use JSTOR Forum/Artstor in the classroom, please see the box located on the right-hand side of this page.

Can I add things to JSTOR Forum?
Certainly!  We are always looking for new collections to add to JSTOR Forum.  Items should relate to the University's history; student works; or faculty/staff research or personal collections.  Please note, we are not using Shared Shelf as a replacement for Blackboard.  Class materials, such as PDFs and PowerPoints, will not be accepted into the institutional collections.  If you are unsure where your materials fall, please contact the Archives.

How Other Institutions Use Shared Shelf

Martin Methodist College: Has created the Marine Biology Collection that allows students to study sea life without being on-site.

Trinity College: Provides access to ornithology lantern slides, a collection that had become inaccessible due to outdated technology.

University of Massachusetts Boston: Uses Forum to house its Electronic Field Guide of Biodiversity Images.

University of Puget Sound: Takes and uploads pictures of their Senior Art Shows so that the exhibits may be viewed by a wider audience.

University of Virginia: Uses Forum for an archeological collection so that students may study artifacts online.