Research Guides: Catholic Social Teaching: Finding Articles

Databases

Library databases have access to articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Every database has different content. This makes it important to use a database that has content on the subject you are researching. In addition, be sure to search in more than one database to find information.

Check out these recommended databases to get started:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 4,770 full-text journals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
This multi-disciplinary database offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. It includes more than 13,780 indexed and abstracted journals and provides full-text for 4,770 journals, including full-text for 4,000 peer-reviewed titles. You will find PDF backfiles to 1975 or further as well as searchable cited references for more than 1,050 journals. This database is an excellent source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in religion and theology.
The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 620,000 article citations from more than 1,746 journals (575 currently indexed), more than 250,000 essay citations from over 18,000 multi-author works, more than 570,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary online reference library provides access to a selection of 601 reference books and 3,412,690 entries.
Credo Reference also includes cross-references to other full text titles containing related information.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. You can search across all titles at once or select an individual title to search.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Topic overviews, journal articles, news, pro/con viewpoint essays, primary documents and links to websites for a variety of social issues. All articles are full-text.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study, and are accompanied by supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications. Funded by the New Jersey State Library.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource contains full-text journal articles, trade journals and consumer publications from 47 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects. Subject areas include the arts and humanities, business, health, medicine, science, the social sciences, and news.
World Religions This link opens in a new window
World Religions explores religion and spirituality in an objective manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the elaborate rituals of today. The database’s Topic Centers feature specially selected content on 15 of the world’s religions and traditional spiritual practices, including information on important topics, spiritual leaders, sacred texts, and holy days and festivals.

Journals, Magazines and Newspapers

Already have a journal, magazine, or newspaper you want to search?

To find a specific journal, use the “Journals” tab on the search box on the library website.

Catholic Social Science Review
The Catholic Social Science Review is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal that publishes orignal articles and reviews in the social sciences and the humanities. It is the journal of the Society of Catholic Social Scientists, and has an editorial focus on topics relevant to the social teachng of the Catholic Church.
National Catholic Reporter

Search Tips

Use keywords, not full sentences or questions
- e.g. "Catholic Social Teaching"
If you have too many results, narrow your focus
- e.g. "Catholic Social Teaching" AND "Dorothy Day"
- or "Catholic Social Teaching" AND "poverty"

Off Campus Access

You don't have to be in the Library to access articles and databases.

The Library's resources can be accessed anytime, anywhere with your NetID and password.

Can't find what you're looking for?

To find books or articles not available in the Jennings Library, use inter-library loan (ILL) or VALE Reciprocal Borrowing.

If the Library doesn't have a book or article you need, we can most likely get it through interlibrary loan.

Log on to Jennings ILL and submit an interlibrary loan request.

For more information see the library's guide to Jennings ILL.

Another option is to use VALE Reciprocal Borrowing. To borrow directly from other academic libraries, you must first visit our Information Desk (hours) to obtain a form to take with you to the participating library.