Research Guides: Legal Research Guide: Databases

Legal Databases

Law reviews and journals are scholarly journals that provide analysis of legal issues. Law review articles can be a good starting point for research, particularly on newer issues that aren't discussed in legal encyclopedias or other print sources. They also provide references to relevant statutes and cases.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to more than 15,000 business, legal, and news sources, including federal and state court cases, full-text articles from more than 800 law reviews and journals. See the link below for tips from LexisNexis on searching for law review articles.
Nexis Uni includes top-tier news publications such as The New York Times and The Washington Post and local, national, and international sources.
Health Management Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text legal reference publications and thousands of legal forms. This database offers the everyday user the necessary tools and detailed “how-to” instructions to independently address a wide range of legal issues.
Access provided by the NJ State Library.

Other Databases

Check out these databases for more information on the topics you're researching or for help choosing a topic.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. It includes more than 13,780 indexed and abstracted journals and provides full-text for 4,770 journals, including full-text for 4,000 peer-reviewed titles. You will find PDF backfiles to 1975 or further as well as searchable cited references for more than 1,050 journals. This database is an excellent source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Business Databases This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The database includes abstract and indexing for 250 titles, with more than 100 available in full-text.
Education Journals This link opens in a new window
This Proquest database indexes over 820 periodical titles in education, including over 630 scholarly journals, 120 trade publications, and over 50 magazines. Citations and abstracts are available back to 1971 for several titles, and full-text access is available for over 650 titles, with current full-text content provided for over 460 of these.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
In addition to the journal literature, ERIC indexes education-related materials from a variety of sources, including scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies. Funded by the New Jersey State Library.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
This Proquest database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text.