Research Guides: Legal Research Guide: Books

Law Call Numbers

Not quite sure what you're looking for? This list of call numbers for various subjects in law may be helpful as you search the library's catalog or browse the library's shelves.

Subclass K: Law in general. Comparative and uniform law. Jurisprudence
- K524-525 Treaties and other international agreements
- K1000-1395 Commercial law
- K3740-3762 Education
- K3840-4375 Regulation of industry, trade, and commerce. Occupational law
- K5000-5582 Criminal law and procedure
- K7000-7720 Private international law. Conflict of laws
Subclass KF: Law of the United States
- KF1-9827 Federal law. Common and collective state law
- KFN1801-2399 New Jersey
Subclass KZ: Law of Nations
- KZ1249-1252 International law and other disciplines

Recommended Books

The Oxford Companion to American Law by Kermit L. Hall (Editor)
Call Number: REF KF154 .O96 2002
ISBN: 0195088786
Publication Date: 2002
A one-volume, alphabetically arranged, encyclopedia introducing the main lines of American law, from the institutions, people, events, and cases to the doctrines and concepts.
Black's Law Dictionary (Ninth Edition) by Bryan A. Garner
Call Number: REF KF156 .B53 2009
ISBN: 9780314199492
Publication Date: 2009
This edition of a classic reference work offers more than 45,000 expertly crafted legal definitions containing an additional 2,000 new terms, nearly 3,000 quotations from legal authorities, and selected terms with their date of origin in American and/or British opinions.
West's New Jersey Law Finder
Call Number: REF KFN 1861 .W47 2014
Publication Date: 2012
Index for New Jersey law.
International and Foreign Legal Research by Marci Hoffman; Mary Rumsey
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781571053121
Publication Date: 2008
A guide to conducting international legal research, including introductory and background sources, commentary and analysis, and internet research.
The Bluebook : A Uniform System of Citation by Harvard Law Review Association
Call Number: REF KF245 .U55, 2010
ISBN: 9780615361161
Publication Date: 2010
For more than eighty years, The Bluebook has provided authoritative guidance to legal citation for American students, professionals, and scholars. Wire-bound to lie flat and fully indexed.

Business Law and the Regulation of Business by Richard A. Mann; Barry S. Roberts
Call Number: KF889 .M355 2002
ISBN: 032406196X
Publication Date: 2002
This text provides a concise explanation of the statutory and case law that affects business. Topics include contracts, sales, negotiable instruments, agency, regulation of business, property, and more.
Employment Law for Business by Dawn D. Bennett-Alexander; Laura P. Hartman
Call Number: KF3455 .B46 2012
ISBN: 9780073524962
Publication Date: 2012
This text addresses law and employment decisions from a managerial perspective. Readers are shown how to analyze employment law facts using concrete examples of management-related legal dilemmas, such as discrimination based on race, gender, age, religion, and disability.
Business and Contract Law by Arun Singh
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781854187253
Publication Date: 2010
This book addresses the formation of a contract, terms of a contract; contractual and legal remedies; deeds; exclusion, frustration and forcemajeure clauses; damages; jurisdiction, governing law, dispute resolution; and more.
Sports Justice : The Law and the Business of Sports by Roger I. Abrams
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781555537005
Publication Date: 2010
This book explores the complex and important legal issues that face both amateur and professional athletes. Learn about cases involving Title IX, transgendered athletes, rights of the disabled, violence on the playing field, individual and franchise free-agency, amateurism and college sports, and responsibility of leagues for the safety and lifelong health of injured players.
Employment Law for Business Students by Stephen T. Hardy; Robert Upex
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781847877512
Publication Date: 2006
This book allows readers to navigate the core legal provisions in employment law and understand crucial issues, such as employment contracts, equal pay, discrimination, family rights, termination of employment, health and safety.
Business Valuation and Federal Taxes : Procedure, Law, and Perspective by David Laro; Shannon P. Pratt
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781118023181
Publication Date: 2011
This book provides a comprehensive overview of business valuation procedures. This edition offers new materials on transfer pricing and customs valuations and how recent markets have affected both the income and market approaches; coverage of FAS 157 and its many changes to penalties and sanctions affecting both taxpayers and appraisers; and exploration of new court cases.
New Jersey Employment Law by Rosemary Alito; Vincent N. Avallone
Call Number: REF KFN2134 .A4 A45 2015
ISBN: 1879590263
Publication Date: 2015
From laws regarding discrimination and affirmative action to health and safety and a brand new chapter on electronic privacy, this resource has become the standard for New Jersey employment lawyers.

Criminal Law and Justice Dictionary by John N. Ferdico; Lippert (Editor)
Call Number: REF KF9217 .F47 1992
ISBN: 0314933107
Publication Date: 1992
A comprehensive reference containing definitions for every word or term likely to be encountered in the criminal justice system.
The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice : Key Terms and Major Court Cases by Dean John Champion
Call Number: REF HV7411 .C48 2005b
ISBN: 0810854066
Publication Date: 2005
Provides definitions of key terms in the following areas: criminal law, criminal justice, forensics, gangs, computers and computer crime, criminal investigations, criminology, criminological theory, corrections, probation and parole, courts and sentencing, rules of criminal procedure, constitutional law, policing and police-community relations, jails and prisons, white-collar crime, sodomy laws, civil rights, tort law, victimization, juvenile law, Section 1983 actions, capital punishment, electronic surveillance, fines and asset forfeiture, deadly force, search and seizure, wrongful convictions, the Prison Litigation Reform Act of 1995, and the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996.
An Introduction to Criminal Law by Philip Carlan; Lisa S. Nored; Ragan A. Downey
Call Number: KF 9219 .C37 2011
ISBN: 9780763755256
Publication Date: 2011
The comprehensive principles of criminal law are explained step-by-step with a focus on the professional applications of legal principles within the criminal justice system. Also features practical hands-on exercises.
Introduction to International Criminal Law by M. Cherif Bassiouni
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9789004186446
Publication Date: 2012
This book covers the history, nature, and sources of international criminal law; the ratione personae; ratione materiae--sources of substantive international criminal law; the indirect enforcement system; the direct enforcement system; the function of the international criminal court; rules of procedure and evidence applicable to international criminal proceedings; and the future of international criminal law.
Basic Criminal Law by Anniken U. Davenport
Call Number: KF 9219.85 .D38 2009
ISBN: 9780135130513
Publication Date: 2009
Key topics include Crimes Against the Person: Murder and Violence; Crimes Against Property; Treason, Terrorism, and Wartime Criminal Justice; Crimes Against the State; Social Crimes; Common Law Defenses; Constitutional Rights Before and After Arrest; The Constitutional Right to Trial by Jury, and Constitutional Rights Post-Conviction.
Right to Counsel and Privilege Against Self-Incrimination : Rights and Liberties Under the Law by John B. Taylor
Call Number: REF KF9646 .T39 2004
ISBN: 1576076180
Publication Date: 2004
An extensive analysis of two complementary rights of the accused, their interpretation by the U.S. Supreme Court, and the ongoing debate over their role in the criminal justice system. Includes an annotated bibliography containing a full list of references.
New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice and motor vehicle laws : with related statutes and court rules by New Jersey
Call Number: REF KFN2361.A3339 A21 2011
Publication Date: 2011

Encyclopedia of Education Law by Charles J. Russo (Editor)
Call Number: REF KF4117 .E53 2008; also available as e-book
ISBN: 9781412940795
Publication Date: 2008
This two-volume encyclopedia features entries on key cases in education law, including both case summaries and topical overviews; constitutional issues; key concepts, theories, and legal principles; treaties (e.g., the Universal Declaration on Human Rights); curricular issues; educational equity; the rights of students and teachers, and more. It also includes selections from key legal documents such as the Constitution and federal statutes that serve as the primary sources for research on education law.
The Deskbook Encyclopedia of American School Law by Center for Education & Employment Law
Call Number: REF KF4114 .D46 2016
Publication Date: 2016
A one-stop reference guide that helps you learn how courts are deciding school cases, what the legal issues are and how your colleagues across the country are faring. Cases are summarized and classified by area of concern, including employment practices, school operations, academic practices, students with disabilities and more. Updated regularly with the looseleaf service "Legal Notes in Education."
Special Education Law and Practice in Public Schools by Larry D. Bartlett; Greg R. Weisenstein; Susan Etscheidt
Call Number: KF4209.3 .B365 2007
ISBN: 0132207141
Publication Date: 2007
This resource is dedicated to understanding the complex laws and issues surrounding students with special needs. It discusses current topics such as: the reauthorization of IDEA, NCLB, and 504; working with families; IEPs; assessment; staff relationships and staffing patters; due process hearing, mediation and complaints; school-wide discipline, and strategies for specific populations. Includes ready-to-use samples and inclusion strategies.
Students with disabilities and special education law by Center for Education and Employment Law
Call Number: REF KF4210 .S88 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Comprehensive and concise reference book, updated annually, to help determine if your program conforms to IDEA statutes and regulations. Includes analyses of recent court cases to keep you up to date on current legal issues.
Private School Law in America
Call Number: REF KF 4220 .P75 2015
ISBN: 1933043202
Publication Date: 2015
Reference book released annually, with updated coverage of education law related to private schools.
Law and American Education by Robert H. Palestini; Karen Falk Palestini
Call Number: KF4118 .P35 2001
ISBN: 0810839598
Publication Date: 2001
This text provides introductory material for educators interested in K-12 educational issues, and who have little or no background knowledge in school law.
Education Law and the Public Schools by David J. Sperry; Philip T. Daniel; Dixie S. Huefner; E. Gordon Gee
Call Number: REF KF4119 .G43 1998
ISBN: 0926842633
Publication Date: 1998
Higher Education Law : The Faculty by Steven G. Poskanzer
Call Number: KF4225 .P67 2002; also available as e-book
ISBN: 0801867487
Publication Date: 2002
This book discusses issues ranging from academic freedom to job security and faculty discipline, lawyers, legal requirements and lawsuits.
The Law of Higher Education by William A. Kaplin; Barbara A. Lee
Call Number: REF KF4225 .K36 1995
ISBN: 0787900524
Publication Date: 1995
This book is a reference, research source, and practical guide to the laws that bear on the conduct of higher education. Explores issues including sex discrimination, hate speech, academic freedom in religious institutions, athletic scholarships, and environmental laws.

Mental Health

Law and Mental Health Professionals : New Jersey by James S. Wulach
Call Number: REF KFN2126.5 .P73 W8 1998
ISBN: 1557983712
Publication Date: 1998
A concise reference for mental health professionals and attorneys regarding mental health law in New Jersey. The book presents the laws addressing many areas pertinent to mental health professionals, such as setting up a private practice, working with health care provider organizations, understanding the duty to warn, and understanding the duty to report abuse and neglect of children and adults.
Competence, condemnation, and commitment : an integrated theory of mental health law by Robert F. Schopp
Call Number: KF3828 .S36 2001
ISBN: 1557987459
Publication Date: 2001
This book examines the major intersections between legal institutions and the idea of mental illness.

Nursing

Fast Facts about Nursing and the Law by Paula DiMeo Grant; Diana C. Ballard
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780826110459
Publication Date: 2013
An easy-to-use reference on nursing law. Topics discussed include: Nursing Malpractice/Negligence; Informed Consent and Patient Rights; Employment Law; Organization and Business Law; and more.
Law for Nurse Leaders by Paula DiMeo Grant; Diana Ballard
ISBN: 9780826124524
Publication Date: 2011
This text is a comprehensive guide to current law issues, questions, trends and research. Topics discussed include nursing malpractice, risk management, employment law, business law, corporate compliance, and dispute resolution as they relate to health care law and nursing practices.
Nursing Law and Ethics by John Tingle; Alan Cribb (Editors)
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780470671375
Publication Date: 2014
This book explores a variety of key legal and ethical issues in nursing practice, discussing both what the law requires and what is ethical.

Public Health

Public Health Law and Ethics by Lawrence Gostin
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780520261921
Publication Date: 2010
This book explores the legal and ethical issues associated with public health through a selection of government reports, scholarly articles, and relevant court cases.
Public Health Law Research by Alexander C. Wagenaar; Scott C. Burris (Editors)
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781118137628
Publication Date: 2013
This book explores the mechanisms, theories and models central to public health law research, a field dedicated to measuring and studying law as a central means for advancing public health.

Other Areas

Environmental Health Law by Russellyn S. Carruth; Bernard D. Goldstein
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781118162347
Publication Date: 2014
This book describes the major U.S. environmental laws and approaches, strategies, standards, and enforcement techniques by which American law protects our environment and our health.
Occupational Health Law by Diana M. Kloss
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781405185905
Publication Date: 2010
A standard reference on occupational health law, including legislation and case law. Topics covered include disability discrimination, the Working Time Regulations, stress related illness, corporate manslaughter, confidentiality, and more.

Communication Arts

The Associated Press stylebook and briefing on media law : with a new internet guide and glossary by Norm Goldstein; Michael Stepanovich
Call Number: REF PN4783 .A83 2007 2007
ISBN: 0738203084
Publication Date: 2007
The AP stylebook also includes information about media law, including advice on how writers can guard against libel and copyright infringement.

Literature

Law in Literature : An Annotated Bibliography of Law-Related Works by Elizabeth V. Gemmette (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN56 .L33 L39 1998
ISBN: 0878754989
Publication Date: 1998
Provides succinct, interesting annotations of some 250 law-related novellas, novels, and plays, with the work's first date of publication. An extensive index of topics found within the annotated works is included.

Psychology & Counseling

Ethics and law : school counseling principles by American School Counselor Association
Call Number: LB1027.5 .S766 2005
ISBN: 1929289057
Publication Date: 2005
Law and Mental Health Professionals : New Jersey by James S. Wulach
Call Number: REF KFN2126.5 .P73 W8 1998
ISBN: 1557983712
Publication Date: 1998
A concise reference for mental health professionals and attorneys regarding mental health law in New Jersey. The book presents the laws addressing many areas pertinent to mental health professionals, such as setting up a private practice, working with health care provider organizations, understanding the duty to warn, and understanding the duty to report abuse and neglect of children and adults.

Theology

Religion and the Law by Christopher Thomas Anglim
Call Number: REF KF4865 .A68 A54 1999
ISBN: 157607028X
Publication Date: 1999
This book examines constitutional provisions in their historical context, analyzes how the First Amendment defines religion, spotlights the issue of religious exercises and public schools, defines government neutrality in religious matters, and surveys official acknowledgment and endorsement of religious values.

Books From Other Libraries

Can’t find what you need in CALCAT? Search the collections of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide in WorldCat. Then, submit an interlibrary loan request or borrow directly from a nearby library with Vale Reciprocal Borrowing.

Interlibrary Loan
Submit requests for materials not held at Jennings Library.
VALE Reciprocal Borrowing
To borrow directly from other academic libraries one must first visit the circulation desk to obtain a form to take with you to the participating library.