BASE is a search engine for nearly 80 million academic open access web resources - primarily documents (articles, books, theses, reports, etc.) but also hundreds of thousands of audio files, images, and videos.
Searches in the EBSCOhost eBook Collection include this Open Access Collection. Created in collaboration with university presses and scholarly OA publishers such as University of Michigan Press, Taylor & Francis and Temple University Press this highly curated collection provides libraries and end users with choice and access to a large selection of discoverable, DRM-Free content.
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format.
Primary materials from several cultures, including books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films.
WDL items can be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, language, and contributing institution. The search feature can be used to search all of the descriptions and the full text of printed books on the site. The WDL is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.
Discipline Specific Open Access Journals and Books
A free full-text Open Access article repository of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). There is some overlap between PMC and MEDLINE.
CC Search is a portal that connects you to various search services for locating Creative Commons-licensed images, videos, and other media, including Flickr, Google, Pixabay, Wikimedia Commons, and YouTube.
Note: Sponsored images from Shutterstock are shown at the top of the search results and are marked with the Shutterstock watermark. These photos have NOT been released into the public domain, and are still protected by copyright.
Search or browse millions of items from prominent European galleries, libraries, archives and museums: images (paintings, maps, photos, pictures of museum objects, etc.), texts (books, newspapers, letters, etc.), sounds (music and spoken word), and videos (films, newsreels and TV broadcasts.