Research Guides (LibGuides): Databases A to Z: A-B

A

ABI/INFORM Complete
Scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.
Academic Search Premier
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 4,770 full-text journals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

This multi-disciplinary database offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. It includes more than 13,780 indexed and abstracted journals and provides full-text for 4,770 journals, including full-text for 4,000 peer-reviewed titles. You will find PDF backfiles to 1975 or further as well as searchable cited references for more than 1,050 journals. This database is an excellent source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STEM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street)
- This link opens in a new window
Watch documentaries, instructional videos, newsreels, performances, and more from a wide variety of disciplines, including business, humanities, social science, and science.

This streaming video database from Alexander Street Press includes thousands of award-winning films, including Academy® and Emmy® winners, the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, newly-released films, and archival material previously unavailable. Faculty and students will find content in Academic Video Online to meet their learning, teaching, and research interest in the following areas and more: art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theatre, and women’s studies.
Academic Writer
Academic Writer is a tool that provides the resources necessary to learn, research, write, and publish in APA Style, directly from the creators of and experts on APA Style, the American Psychological Association.
Access Science
Searchable content from McGraw-Hill’s Encyclopedia of Science & Technology; also provides definitions of scientific terms, biographies of scientists, research updates and news.

It also includes research updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology, definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, biographies of well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography® and the latest news in science and technology from Science News® and ScienCentral® videos.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text periodicals, industry newsletters, and reports, with coverage of trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day.
ACM Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library is a research, discovery and networking platform containing ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters, books, and more!
African-American History
Reference materials featuring thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
American History
Reference materials that span more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
American Indian History
Reference materials on more than 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of American Indian culture and history.
Ancient and Medieval History
Reference materials on the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from scholarly journals on a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.

This database features full-text articles from more than 320 periodicals dating back to 1977, and indexing of more than 210,000 art reproductions. Art Full Text also supplies high-quality indexing and abstracts for over 660 periodicals dating back to 1972, including nearly 360 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 14,000 art dissertations.
Artstor
Online digital image library with more than one million images on subjects in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

Artstor provides tools and software to search, present, and share digital images both online and offline for research and teaching.
arXiv.org
Open access to 1,117,136 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
ATLA Religion Database
Citations for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in religion and theology.

The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 620,000 article citations from more than 1,746 journals (575 currently indexed), more than 250,000 essay citations from over 18,000 multi-author works, more than 570,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.

B

BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
BASE is a search engine for nearly 80 million academic open access web resources - primarily documents (articles, books, theses, reports, etc.) but also hundreds of thousands of audio files, images, and videos.

Created by Bielefeld University Library, Germany.
Behavioral and Mental Health Online
This provides a comprehensive, rich, and diverse collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Programs in counseling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health will all benefit from the wide variety of content in this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works.
BioMed Central (BMC)
200+ peer-reviewed open access journals in the fields of biology, biomedicine and medicine; includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive
1,050 full-text journals covering clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences, and the health care system.
Bloom's Literature
Scholarly works exploring great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.

This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.
Bloomberg Businessweek
Reports on news, ideas and trends affecting industry and the economy for those in business management, with national and international coverage.
Business Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of business databases at once, including Global (business topics worldwide), Dateline (local and regional business publications), Trade & Industry, Hoover’s company capsules, newspapers, and Banking Information Source.
Business Source Elite
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text for over 1,000 business publications dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included (you can find them using the "Company Profiles" tab in the top navigation bar). Funded by the New Jersey State Library.