Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Caldwell University Banner

History Research Guide: Articles

Your guide for doing history research.

Journals, Magazines and Newspapers

Already have a Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper you want to search?

See if the Library has access to it with the Journal Finder Link

Can't find what you're looking for?

To find books or articles not available in the Jennings Library, use inter-library loan (ILL) or VALE Reciprocal Borrowing.

If the Library doesn't have a book or article you need, we can most likely get it through interlibrary loan.

  • Log on to Jennings ILL and submit an interlibrary loan request.

For more information see the library's guide to Jennings ILL

Another option is to use VALE Reciprocal Borrowing. To borrow directly from other academic libraries, you must first visit our Information Desk (hours) to obtain a form to take with you to the participating library.

Reference Articles

Library databases have access to articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. The databases below have introductory articles that will give you an overview to a topic. Read a few articles in the databases below to start your research. What you learn in these articles will help you to understand the more scholarly information you find later.

Check out these recommended history reference databases:

Scholarly Articles

Library databases have access to articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. The databases contain scholarly articles. These articles will be more indepth and complicated than the articles in the history reference databases.

Check out these recommended databases:

Off Campus Access

You don't have to be in the Library to access articles and databases.

The Library's resources can be accessed anytime, anywhere with your NetID and password.

Online Database Tutorials