Research Guides: NU 420: Community and Public Health Resources: Internet Resources

Governance and Leadership

NJ County and Municipal Web Sites
Has list of NJ county and municipal web sites
Not necessarily official ones.
New York Counties
List of counties with links to their sites

Psych/Behavioral Considerations

NJ - DHS - Epidemiological Reports
Substance Abuse reports by county
NY Mental Health Statistics
The New York State Office of Mental Health (OMH) promotes the mental health and well-being of all New Yorkers

Religion

Search by county to get religious membership reports from the Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA).

Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)

Socioeconomic Conditions

BLS Occupation and Industry
US labor force data on employed persons.
BLS Reports
BLS Reports provide analytical information related to the labor force, consumer spending, earnings, and work injuries and illnesses.
BLS Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey
The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of households conducted by the Bureau of Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. It provides a comprehensive body of data on the labor force, employment, unemployment, persons not in the labor force, hours of work, earnings, and other demographic and labor force characteristics.
BLS Monthly Labor Review
Principal journal of the BLS. Subjects include the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and more.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS)
The LAUS program produces monthly and annual employment, unemployment, and labor force data for Census regions and divisions, States, counties, metropolitan areas, and many cities, by place of residence.
Women in the Labor Force
Current and historical statistics on a broad range of topics and sub-populations of women in the labor force
New Jersey County Unemployment Rates

Crime

Crime in the United States
Listed by year.
NJ Crime Statistics
View current crime data by county & town.
Crime in NY State

Transportation

NJ Commuter
NJcommuter.com provides information for motorists, pedestrians, and bus and train riders in New Jersey. Of special interest are the 511NJ Travel Information and major road construction updates.

The CDC - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

CDC Places: Local Data for Better Health
The PLACES Project provides model-based population-level analysis and community estimates to all counties, places (incorporated and census designated places), census tracts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs) across the United States.
CDC County Data
The County Data application allows you to view data and trends of diagnosed diabetes, obesity, and leisure-time physical inactivity at the national, state, and county levels.
CDC Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
MMWR is a free online version of the classic publication published since 1976. Article topics include the effects of prison violence on juveniles, tobacco use, and disease and health conditions for meat-packers.
CDC NCHS (National Center for Health Statistics)
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) provides statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. It's housed within the CDC.
CDC NCHS - FastStats (Statistics by Topic)
Quick access to statistics on topics of public health and leading causes of death.
CDC NCHS - Health, United States
Annual report on trends in health statistics in the United States.
CDC WISQARS
WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources. Researchers, the media, public health professionals, and the public can use WISQARS data to learn more about the public health and economic burden associated with unintentional and violence-related injury in the United States.
CDC WONDER
WONDER (Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research) is a web application that makes many health-related datasets available to the worldwide public health community.
CDC NCHS FastStats (Statistics by State)
Lists births, fertility rate, deaths, death rate by state.

Health in the United States

Census Quick Facts
Start here for an easy way to get your stats on environmental and socio-cultural considerations.
The Community Guide
The Community Guide is a collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF). It is a resource to help you select interventions to improve health and prevent disease in your state, community, community organization, business, healthcare organization, or school.
Healthy People 2030
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
Henry Kaiser Family Foundations - State Health Facts
State Health Facts is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play. Data by county & congressional district.

New Jersey Health Statistics

NJ Health - CHS (Center for Health Statistics and Informatics)
CHS is responsible for compiling and releasing statistical information on the health of New Jersey residents. CHS publishes official reports on births, deaths, chronic illnesses, injuries, and behavioral risk factors, among other types of information.
Links to:
NJSHAD
NJVDRS
NJBRFS
Healthy NJ 2020 & 2030
other quick links

New York Health Statistics

Take Care New York
is the City’s blueprint for giving everyone the chance to live a healthier life. Its aim is to improve every community’s health, especially among groups with the worst health outcomes, so that our city becomes a more equitable place for everyone. TCNY 2020 looks at traditional health factors, as well as social factors, such as how many people in a community graduated from high school or go to jail.
NY Biophysical Considerations
The causes of death reported in these pages are the underlying causes classified according to the tenth revision of the International Classification of Diseases (ICD, 10th revision) adopted by New York State in 1999. Historically, several revisions of the ICD have been used, therefore, it is necessary to employ a comparability ratio when comparing cause of death statistics across revisions. Comparability ratios have been published by the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
NYC Community Health Profiles
The New York City Community Health Profiles capture the health of 59 community districts and highlights disparities among neighborhoods. They can be used by policymakers, community groups, health professionals, researchers and residents to encourage community engagement and action.

Website Evaluation Tips

Check out these tips when deciding to use an online source. Always be skeptical.

Authority: Who is responsible for creating the web page? Is there a publisher or sponsor of the web page? Can you find information about the author and publisher?
Audience: Who is this web site created for? Is the content geared towards an age group or population group?
Accuracy: How does the information compare to other sources?
Content: What is the content of the web site: images, articles, a blog? The type of domain (.edu, .gov, .org) may provide some clues about the information. Can you detect a bias? Are there cited references?
Currency: How recent is the web site? Is there information on when it was last updated?

International Links

World Health Organization: Global Health Observatory (GHO) data
The GHO is the WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States.

The aim of the GHO portal is to provide easy access to:
-country data and statistics with a focus on comparable estimates
-WHO’s analyses to monitor global, regional and country situation and trends.

National and Local Nursing Association Websites

Community Health Needs Assessment Reports by Hospital

RJBarnabas Health
Includes links to reports on Barnabas Health Behavioral Health Center, Children's Specialized Hospital, Clara Maass Medical Center, Community Medical Center, Jersey City Medical Center, Monmouth Medical Center, Monmouth Medical Center Southern Campus, Newark Beth Israel Medical Center, Saint Barnabas Medical Center, RWJUH Hamilton, RWJUH New Brunswick, RWJUH Somerset, RWJUH Rahway.
Atlantic Health System
Includes reports on Morristown Medical Center, Overlook Medical Center, Newton Medical Center, Chilton Medical Center, and Hackettstown Medical Center.
St. Joseph's Health
Includes reports on St. Joseph's University Medical Center and St. Joseph's Wayne Medical Center.
Valley Health System
Includes 2019 & 2016 Community Health Needs Assessments for Valley Health System.