Archives News

Did you participate in the Caldwell Research and Creative Arts Day this year?

Please consider contributing your research to the Caldwell University Archives digital collections on JSTOR! 

Why? By sharing your work, you are contributing to Caldwell's rich history as well as the broader research community on JSTOR. Plus, it looks great on a resume! We accept posters and abstracts / research papers in electronic format. The number of students who have previously shared their work with the Archives compared to how many actually presented at CRaCAD has unfortunately been very low, so we'd like to try to change that and encourage more students to submit their projects so we can continue to highlight their incredible work.

You can view the growing collection of CRaCAD projects here.

If you would like to share your research with the Archives, please submit your work using this form in the following formats:

Abstracts / papers: Microsoft Word or PDF format

Posters: PDF or JPEG format

Questions? Send an email to archives@caldwell.edu

“The Kettle” is the student newspaper of Caldwell College (formerly Caldwell College for Women). Its first issue was published on October 31, 1941 (although that issue has unfortunately been lost). The student newspaper provides an exciting glimpse into the lives of Caldwell students over the years, and allows us to understand what their college days and society were like at the time. The issues in this collection span 70 years of Caldwell history, from 1941 to 2011. 

This collection also allows us to make use of a new digital collections platform. In addition to being available through Artstor, as our collections have been for some time, we now have the ability to make them available through a new interface on JSTOR. We hope that this will improve the quality of our digital collections, and make them more accessible to the Caldwell community and beyond!

The collection is publicly available and can be viewed here.

Questions? Send an email to archives@caldwell.edu

Take a trip down memory lane with the Carillon yearbooks! 

The Carillon is the student yearbook of Caldwell College and was published from 1943-2012. All issues of the yearbook are now publicly available to view online and can be found in the Caldwell University Archives’ digital collections which are accessible through Artstor. 

The collection can be viewed here.

Special thanks to Ting-Hsuan "Louann" Liu for her assistance with this project.

Questions? Send an email to archives@caldwell.edu. 

Christmas traditions have always been an important part of Caldwell's history. Although the activities may have changed, students and staff have always gathered together to celebrate the Christmas festivities. The Caldwell University Archives' new digital exhibit, "Christmas at Caldwell," highlights these various traditions over the years, such as tree-trimming contests and plays, candlelight ceremonies, caroling, and the annual Christmas banquet. The photographs in the exhibit are from the 1940s through the 1970s. 

The exhibit can be viewed here. Stay tuned for more digital exhibits in the future!

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Please email Kim Lynch, Reference Services & Archives Librarian: kalynch@caldwell.edu

Submit your photos, essays, and short videos to the “Living the Mission” website!

The “Living the Mission” project seeks to document and preserve student experiences in service activities at Caldwell University. This includes the annual immersion trip to Belize, Midnight Runs to aid the homeless in New York City, spring break trips to Philadelphia, Caldwell Day, Service Saturday, and other local volunteer opportunities.

Currently, the Caldwell University Archives has collected over 1,000 images from past service activities to create the “Living the Mission” digital collection in Artstor, all of which were contributed by Caldwell students and staff. You can view a selection of these images here. Your contributions will help to create a permanent record of participation in service activities and allow us to preserve the content for future research.

To submit your content, visit the “Living the Mission” website and click on Contribute an Item.

https://livingthemission.omeka.net/ 

Questions? Send an email to archives@caldwell.edu.

A new collection is now publicly available in the Caldwell University Archives' digital collections in Artstor. This collection contains photographs of the Mother Joseph Residence Hall Chapel, which was decommissioned on April 23, 2018. The chapel's stained glass windows, many of which depict Dominican saints, were designed by Sister Julia Marie, O.P. The Stations of the Cross and other elements of the chapel are also represented in this collection. Mother Joseph Residence Hall was opened to students in September 1961, and the chapel was completed in December 1961. The chapel was photographed in March 2018 by Anthony Yang. 

This new collection can be found under Public Collections in Artstor. Please contact Kim Reamer, Reference Services & Archives Librarian, with any questions or comments. 

kreamer@caldwell.edu | (973)618-3564

Do you have questions about the history of Caldwell University? Are you curious about the collections in the University Archives? Whether you are searching for old photographs, or an article from "The Kettle" student newspaper, or you're interested in making an appointment to visit the Archives, you can now submit a request using the new Ask the Archivist form! Just click the "Ask the Archivist!" tab on the University Archives LibGuide, and fill out the form with all of the details about your request. The Archivist, Kim Reamer, will research your request and respond to you with the results. Ask away!

Welcome to the Caldwell University Archives blog!  This blog will update every month and keep you informed of current projects, events, and university history.  This month's entry will simply be an overview of the archives and what goes on there.

The University Archives collects, preserves, and makes available materials related to Caldwell University.  While most of these materials deal with Caldwell's history, more recent items are collected and housed in the archives as well in an effort to preserve a record of what the university is like now.

Preservation is a second key part of the archives.  All items deteriorate over time but careful preservation slows this process and keeps materials as close to their original state as possible.  To do this, we use acid-free folders and boxes; polypropylene sleeves for photographs; and keep the archives at a chilly 65 degrees throughout the year.

The last aim of the archives is to ensure that these materials are accessible and visible to the campus community.  This is accomplished in a number of ways.  Carefully arranging and cataloging the collections allows items to be found quickly and easily, thus improving accessibility.  Collections are made visible through regular exhibits and by uploading photographs to ARTstor Digital Workspace.  In these ways, the archives guarantees that the University's past will not be forgotten.

There is no "typical" day in the archives.  Instead, several projects happen concurrently and overlap.  One day may consist of digitizing photographs and slides.  

The next day's tasks may deal with processing new materials and updating information online about the collections.  Later, work may go into preparing for a new exhibit to be displayed in the Jennings Library.  The archives also receives regular requests for materials, especially photographs, from various offices and groups on campus.

There is always something happening at the University Archives!  In the coming months, we will share new and upcoming projects with you on this blog, as well show what happens behind the scenes.