MLA stands for Modern Language Association. MLA Style is an established style for formatting your paper and giving credit to your sources.
This page provides resources for all the elements of a preparing a paper in MLA Style, including formatting, in-text citations, and the works cited list.
Disciplines at Caldwell that use MLA Style include English, history, theology, philosophy, and others.
MLA Handbook by 
from MLA Handbook chapter 5.100-103, The Three Most Common Types of Entries
from MLA Handbook chapter 5.100-103, The Three Most Common Types of Entries
from MLA Handbook chapter 5.100-103, The Three Most Common Types of Entries
from MLA Handbook chapter 5.100-103, The Three Most Common Types of Entries
from MLA Handbook chapter 5.100-103, The Three Most Common Types of Entries
Lorensen, Jutta. “Between Image and Word, Color, and Time: Jacob Lawrence’s The Migration Series.” African American Review, vol. 40, no. 3, 2006, pp. 571-86. Academic Search Premier, each.ebscohost.com/login.aspx? Drect=true&db=f5h&AN=24093790&site=eho st-live.
(Lorensen 577)
Fessenden, Ford, et al. "The Battle for New York's Key Voting Blocs in the Primaries." New York Times, 19 Apr. 2016, p. A 14. ProQuest Central, ezproxy.caldwell.edu:2048/login?url=http:// search.proquest.com/ docview/1781721245?accountid=26523.
(Fessenden et al. A14)
Chang, Kenneth. “NASA Will Send More Helicopters to Mars.” The New York Times, 27 July 2022, www.nytimes.com/2022/07/27/science/mars-sample-mission-nasa.html.
(Chang)
Dorris, Michael, and Louise Erdrich. The Crown of Columbus. HarperCollins Publishers, 1999.
(Dorris and Erdrich 110-12)
Copeland, Edward. “Money.” The Cambridge Companion to Jane Austen, edited by Copeland and Juliet McMaster, Cambridge UP, 1997, pp. 131-48.
(Copeland 135)
“Infographic: Benefits of Language Learning.” Modern Language Association, 2022, www.mla.org/Resources/Advocacy/Infographics/Infographic-Benefits-of-Language-Learning.
("Inforgraphic: Benefits of Language Learning")
Mamma Mia. Directed by Phyllida Lloyd, Universal Pictures, 2008. Netflix app.
(Mamma Mia) or (Mamma Mia 59:03-61:23) - cite a specific scene with timestamps in the page number spot
There are many tools that can help you create, manage, and organize your citations and your references page. Here are some that the library provides or recommends for students and faculty.
NoodleTools is an online tool that helps you take notes and correctly format citations. MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian citation styles are included. Use throughout your research project to track sources, take notes, create outlines, collaborate with classmates, and format bibliographies.
Use this link to create an account.
The information on this page comes from the MLA Handbook, 9th Edition. This book can be cited in MLA style like this:
MLA Handbook. 9th ed., Modern Language Association of America, 2021.
The elements used here are: [2. Title of source] MLA Handbook. [5. Version] 9th ed., [7. Publisher] Modern Language Association of America, [8. Publication date] 2021. Because the publisher is an organization who is also the author, this organization - the Modern Language Association - is only listed once, as the publisher.
An in-text citation for this handbook could be (MLA Handbook 45) to refer specifically to something on page 45.