Recommended databases for music.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013
Search several databases at once with the Summon search service!
You don't have to be in the Library to access articles and databases.
The Library's resources can be accessed anytime, anywhere with your NetID and password.
- Academic Search Complete
This multi-disciplinary database offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. Updated daily, it includes over 13,600 indexed and abstracted journals and provides full-text for nearly 9,100 journals, including full-text for nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles dating as far back as 1887 are provided as well as searchable cited references for more than 1,460 journals. This database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities.
- Credo Reference
This online reference library provides access to a selection of 601 reference books and 3,412,690 entries. Credo Reference also includes cross-references to other full text titles containing related information.
ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials. The majority of the journals are peer-reviewed but not all are full-text. In addition to the journal literature, ERIC indexes education-related materials from a variety of sources, including scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies. Funded by the New Jersey State Library.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences I
This collection from JSTOR includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. Representative disciplines in this collection include: history, languages & literature, political science, business & economics, education and sociology. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
- Naxos Music Library (NML)
The world´s largest online classical music library, offering streaming access to more than 86,020 CDs with more than 1,249,300 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. The contents can be searched by composer, work, genre and label; by keyword search and by a sophisticated advanced search engine with up to 11 combined search criteria. NML provides liner notes for most recordings and listeners can create personalized playlists or use predefined Naxos Music Library playlists.
- Oxford Music Online
An integrated music resource that includes Grove Music Online (includes the full text and updates of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Ed), The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music .
- ProQuest Central
This multidisciplinary resource contains full-text journal articles, trade journals and consumer publications from 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects. Subject areas include the arts and humanities, business, health, medicine, science, the social sciences, and news.
Language of Music (MU122)
- Last Updated Oct 10, 2013
This guide will help you locate resources related to musical styles, time periods, and musical pieces, and get started on your research.
34 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 18, 2013
Recommended databases for music.
153 views this year
- Last Updated Nov 4, 2013
This guide presents resources for Music Theory courses MU103 and MU104.
49 views this year