Recommended databases for communication arts.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013
Search several databases at once with the Summon search service!
You don't have to be in the Library to access articles and databases.
The Library's resources can be accessed anytime, anywhere with your NetID and password.
- ABI/INFORM Complete
This business, management and trade database provides access to scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.
- Academic Search Complete
This multi-disciplinary database offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. Updated daily, it includes over 13,600 indexed and abstracted journals and provides full-text for nearly 9,100 journals, including full-text for nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles dating as far back as 1887 are provided as well as searchable cited references for more than 1,460 journals. This database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities.
- CQ Researcher
Covering today’s most important issues and controversial subjects, this database explores a current issue in the news in depth each week written by an experienced CQ Press reporter. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year (reports start in 1991).
- Credo Reference
This online reference library provides access to a selection of 601 reference books and 3,412,690 entries. Credo Reference also includes cross-references to other full text titles containing related information.
- New York Times (1980 – current)
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper.
- New York Times Archives (1851-2009)
The archives of this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
This resource contains articles, topic overviews, pro/con viewpoint essays, primary documents and links to websites for a variety of social issues. All articles are full-text.
- Points of View Reference Center
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study, and are accompanied by supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications. Funded by the New Jersey State Library.
- ProQuest Central
This multidisciplinary resource contains full-text journal articles, trade journals and consumer publications from 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects. Subject areas include the arts and humanities, business, health, medicine, science, the social sciences, and news.
Heather Cook, MLIS
Liaison for Business, Communication Arts, Education, and History & Political Science